Cream of Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
This was a nice base, but needed something besides salt and pepper, I add 1/4 tsp ground ginger, 1 TBL dried sage,1TBL dried parsley and used 1/2 1/2, I also blended it befor adding the dairy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daunp

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Belmont, California, USA
Living In: Lodi, California, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Ehhhhh....this was OK. Maybe it's because I used red onions, but the flavor was a little...not what I wanted. I'm definitely going to try it again with different onions. I'm not sure why you want to let it cool and then put the milk in. Who wants cold soup? I had to heat it up after the milk was added. Updated the next day: I just had some leftovers for lunch. It's definitely the onions that are ruining it for me. Maybe I'll try onion powder next time - I'm not enjoying the onion texture in my cream of tomato soup. Otherwise, it's pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Stone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Awesome recipe! Very versatile. I have made this multiple times and can't get enough. It is great the way it is written but also good wtih changes. I have added diced celery, carrots and green peppers to the onions and softened those. Once because I ran out of milk I used a can of evaporated milk instead - that made for a creamier soup. I have also added finely diced jalapenos for a hit of heat and also added diced tomatos (both fresh and canned) to change things up. Everytime it comes out great and I get so many compliments. This freezes well and I keep a quart or two frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Very good. I didn't know what to do with the tomato juice my husband bought but did not drink and this was the perfect solution. Perfect at written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This is so easy to make, I didn't have have any tomato juice so I used a combination or tomato sauce and cut tomatoes. I also added a little celery and simmered altogether for about 10 minutes before pureeing. Fresh ground pepper on top and you have a meal! My son who only likes tomato soup loved it,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Okay, this tomato soup is the most delicious thing ever! I didn't even use a spoon, just drank two cups straight! If you like the kind of tomato soup that doesn't have tomato bits and is perfectly smooth like the ones at a restaurant then DO NOT sub the tomato juice! The fact that there are no tomato bits is the whole point of this soup. All I can suggest is to make sure you add salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsSpice
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
This is a great starter recipe. However, I do make some changes. First I don't use onion. I add quite a few spices according to taste. Cayenne, garlic powder, onion powder, basil, a bay leaf, and a few more depending on my mood. I let it simmer for about 15 or 20 minutes. After that I remove it from the heat and put in about 1/2 tsp or so of baking SODA (to get rid of acidity and to prevent milk from curdling). It gets really bubbly and orange. I stir it around until it settles down(about 2 minutes) Then I put in warmed milk. So much better than canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsSpice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
We have lots of garden tomatoes in our freezer and my husband likes to make them into juice. This is a wonderful, fast, simple recipe for soup. Beats the canned variety by far. I did add some Italian seasoning just before the milk but not necessary. I waited only a few seconds, then stirred well while adding the milk. It did not curdle. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Looks like people have made many changes to this recipe. I'm not sure what to do. I scaled it for 2 & it was thin, milky & oniony. I added garlic & fresh pepper & it still didn't have very much taste. Next time I will puree the onion in the food processor & use less milk (or cream).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Who needs canned soup!!! This is delicious and easy to make. I add the milk after I make the roux and then add a 28oz. can of crushed tomatoes instead of tomato juice. It makes the soup much heartier and leaves nice little tomato bits. I've made this 3x and shared the recipe once...I won't buy canned tomato soup again when this is so easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Kulp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honey Brook, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Narvon, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States