Cream of Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
We did not like this. The onions were overpowering (even with a lot of cooking beforehand) and the soup just wasn't creamy enough. I'd rather put in the extra work to make a good creamy soup or just eat the canned stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I had a couple things to change but the recipe worked as a charm. I only had 1 cup of milk, so that's all I used. Instead of tomato juice, I had Spicy V-8 so that's what I used. As a result, I didn't add salt to this recipe (as that stuff is quite salty enough). I also took the suggestion of a previous reviewer by adding my milk to the roux before I added the tomato juice. It made good sense to me, as that's how gravy begins and the flour exists only to thicken the soup. I'd probably cook my onions a bit longer next time, but that's just our taste. I think I'll cook the leftovers again with golden potatoes and serve with bacon on top...EDIT 11/12/09: In remembering this soup, I am taking away 1 star. It just didn't taste 5 star to me, although it was satisfying the 2 nights we finished it off. A good recipe if you have juice but not tomatoes, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
This has definitely become a staple in my kitchen. I substituted green onions and added 1 cup of peas and 1 tbsp of cumin and 3 tbsp of curry. Sounds unorthodox but my friend recommended it and it was absolutely sensational! Cheap and yummy, great for this college student :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Very good, comforting soup. I substitute 1/2 cup sour cream for 1/2 cup of the milk. Add some fresh basil and use an immersion mixer to puree it all. Freezes very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck Wesserling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Very good especially for how simple it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Souper...er, umm, Super! This was so yum. I used some celery with the finely minced onions at the outset, used olive oil for the sauteing base, threw in a bay leaf, and used half & half for the milk. Only two of us here, so on subsequent night with leftover soup, added boiled & seasoned potato chunks, asparagus, and crumbled bacon for a new "Potato Tomato Soup"...also yum. Oh! used a basic crouton recipe from this site for toppings both nights. Made me feel like a cook, after all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
This was a big hit! I made it as written, with 1% milk. Next time I'll use low fat half & half to make it richer, but it was good as is. 9 year old son and 84 year old mother-in-law both loved it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA
Living In: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
I did not care for this at all! I was surprised at how many rated this so high. I did not like the chopped onions in it and I am an onion lover! I followed the recipe exactly as stated- did not substitute anything so was very dissapointed. Campbell's is better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Extremely easy, but delicious soup! I followed the recipe except when I added the flour, I whisked in half to 1 cup of milk first instead of tomato juice. Once it got creamy consistency, I added tomato juice and then the rest of the milk. I served it with basil and black pepper. No additional salt was necessary because the juice was already salty enough. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miss H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I didn't have any tomato juice, so I mixed tomato paste with water until it was the right consistency. It did the trick. I the soup great as it was, but I also like my food with garlic, so I added minced garlic, and decided to throw in some leftover chorizo as well. One of the reasons I like cream of tomato soup to begin with is because it makes a great base for improvised soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miramar, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States