Cream of Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Loved this soup. Had to add more salt though. I also added cooked macaroni, as my daughter LOVES tomato macaroni soup. She also enjoyed it.So eaasy to make.Will definitely make this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Simple and elegant. Although it's tempting - and probably makes for a slightly better recipe - to use garden tomatoes or crushed tomatoes or add other items, this recipe doesn't need changing to be good. It's so easy as it is, most changes would simply add to the effort of making it! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar Grove, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I also made this recipe in the 7th grade cooking class - it has been a family favorite ever since....almost 50 years now! I lost the recipe for awhile and was so happy to find it. Anyway - if you have someone who doesn't like the onion bits, just strain it. (We were taught to add the tomato part to the milk part - keeps it from curdling). You don't want to let it boil, either. Same reason. The only difference in the recipe I have, is that it uses 2 C of tomato juice and 2 C milk. So tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I did not care for this at all. The tomato juice taste was overpowering, and it needed reheating after adding the milk. I used whole milk and even that wasn't enough to save this Campbell's imposter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I made it just as written and it was very good. Next time I make it I will do a bit of adjustment by adding a tad bit of sugar and whole milk and maybe some extra seasoning (perhaps a veggie boullion).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This was pretty good. I followed the exactly and found it lacking just a tad....so I added about a 2 tsp of sugar just to take the edge off. I still think it needs something else but not sure what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Wow!! This is the first time I've ever made tomato soup from scratch and this was sooo yummy! I did add a stalk of celery to the onions and put them in the food processor to get the pieces nice and small. Instead of 2 C milk I used a can of evaporated milk (12 oz) and 1/2 cup of regular milk. Added the milk before the tomato juice and used chicken stock granules for the salt. This is one soup I'll make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Great base recipe. I didn't have tomato juice so I pureed some fresh tomatoes along with the onion. Added some oregano, basil and 1-2 tbsp Cheese Wiz. Topped with shredded Asiago cheese. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fairytale.magic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
WOW!! Easy and impressed 5 hungry 13 year old boys. Took reviewers advice and added milk to roux and then added 28 oz. can of crushed tomatoes. Subbed onion powder for onion. And it appears that I will be making this again (and again and again). Good bye, Campbell's Soup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Wow! I made this recipe with vegan margarine and rice milk. Also used whole wheat flour because I'd run out of all-purpose flour. Added some raw spinach and parsley to fill it out and prettify. It tastes fantastic! Now it's compassionate and cholesterol-free, as well as quick, easy, delicious, and nutritious. Thanks for the great recipe!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States