Cream of Tomato Soup with Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2008
I sautéed an onion in the saucepot first and then added the stock and tomatoes. Rather than waiting for the chicken stock to reduce by 1/3 I drained the tomatoes to save time and I did also use closer to ¼ cup pesto. The hand blender worked perfectly to puree it right in the pot and the soup was delicious! Perfect for a rainy day! Next time I might have it with a grilled cheese sandwich and garnish with some fresh basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
While this is very good, it is also a fairly common tomato soup recipe with the standard chicken broth, tomatoes and cream. It's certainly easy to throw together in a pinch with pantry staples, but if you want to really make this special use homemade chicken broth (I had some in the freezer), homemade marinara (also in my freezer, put up from my garden) and heavy cream rather than the half and half. I did use the half and half this time for comparison's sake and found that the soup is just not as good as it is with rich, heavy cream - and for some reason it even looks better made with cream too! Loved the pesto swirl at the end -again, I used homemade that I'd frozen. Reducing the chicken broth really isn't necessary, and I don't add the cream until after the tomatoes and broth have simmered a bit. Great soup for little time and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
Excellent! Used Caldo de Pollo dried to make the chicken stock, and had accidently bought cans of pureed tomato so didn't even need to use the blender at all. Wonderful flavor and *so* fast. Yum-O!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Excellent, and so simple! I used my own basil pesto, which I keep in small jars in the freezer. I also prefer to puree the soup and THEN add cream when I return the soup to the pan. I added the pesto to the pan vs. each bowl. My husband's favorite soup now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Such a yummy soup! Heres what I did different: I cooked some onion and garlic in the pot before adding the chicken broth. Let that simmer for maybe 15-20 minutes or so. I then added a can of homemade tomatoes and a can of condensed soup. I let that simmer for another 10 minutes to let it thicken up. I ran it through the blender to take out the chunks and then added the half and half. I also used much more pesto then what the recipe calls for. I stirred it right into the pot rather then spooning it out into the bowls...probably about a 1/4 cup or so. Turned out delicious! I served it with toasted chicken salad sandwiches for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lsmarie04

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwood, New York, USA
Living In: Madrid, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Great Creamy Tomato Soup Recipe. Just what I was looking for... I added some Garlic Pepper to it to give it a little more taste and used Whipping Cream instead to make it richer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
we fixed this recipe ALOT. instead of half and half we used grated cheese curd. that was a wondeful addition. we would also recommend more pesto. another change we made was putting orzo into the soup. it was a bit thin so we thought orzo might spice it up a bit. it sure did! definetly put orzo into this, it adds SO much to the flavor. best of all, this soup was fast and easy!!! we will definetly make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BSGfood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
Very easy to prepare and tasty. I used fat-free half & half in this recipe and it came out great. I did not add the pesto. I will make this again for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
This soup is amazing! Like another reviewer I did not wait for the chicken stock to reduce, just drained liquid from one can of tomatoes and it turned out fantastic! I also added some celery salt which added a ton of flavor and some dried basil. Also diced up some onion before blending. It was sooo good, I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
absoultely amazing i used this entire recipe the only thing i changed was that i changed was that i used a cup of whipped cream instead of the half and half. my 10 yr old son is a vegetarian and loves the tom. soup he cant tell it has chicken broth in it something u can change to have a richer taste (even though i dont do it if my son eats it) is that u can use chix stock instead of broth. this soup is amazing w french bread to dip or croutons in it if u like the bread in it. the pesto gives it an extra kick this is the first thing i have ever cooked off of here and its a must try.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States