Cream of Tomato Soup with Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
we fixed this recipe ALOT. instead of half and half we used grated cheese curd. that was a wondeful addition. we would also recommend more pesto. another change we made was putting orzo into the soup. it was a bit thin so we thought orzo might spice it up a bit. it sure did! definetly put orzo into this, it adds SO much to the flavor. best of all, this soup was fast and easy!!! we will definetly make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BSGfood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Good soup that seems to taste better after marinating as a left over. I like onions, so as the soup was simmering I sauted 1/2 onion that I then added to the soup after it went into the food processor. I've made this recipe in 2 different ways- 1st way was processing the tomatoes and then adding it to the broth and half & half. The 2nd way was as the recipe says to do it, processing it all at the end. The 2nd method is definitely better, as the half and half is homogenized this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I don't even like tomato soup, but I decided to give this a try for the family. It was delicious. I followed the recipe almost exactly. I added a bit more pesto and used zesty seasoned salt to taste instead of salt and pepper. Thanks for sharing. This will be a staple from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
This was okay - my kids prefer canned tomato soup to this - definitely won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
This is so easy and tastes a million times better than soup from a can! I love it with grilled cheese--great for busy nights!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
This is awesome. All I added was a little fresh, shredded parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RIMBAUD1POET

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Land O Lakes, Florida, USA
Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
So good!! I loved how quick and delicious this was. The pesto was a wonderful addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
It was OK. I like that it was quick to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSKJS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DEBORAHM4
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
I liked this - my husband did not. I think he liked the taste of it, but the texture turned him off because it's not as smooth and creamy as canned soup. I really liked the addition of the pesto. I will probably just do canned soup next time because of it's simplicity and just add pesto to it, and maybe some half & half. I did add the pesto to the whole pot instead of individual servings, but served each bowl with a bit of freshly grated Parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Farmington, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
I thought this was too sour. I added some sugar and tarragon in addition to what was called for, but it was still too sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States