Cream of Tomato Soup with Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Delicious! I took the advice of another reviewer and added the pesto to the tomato mixture before adding the half and half. I also used fat free half and half to save on calories. This is so much better than canned soup, it doesn't even compare. Sure it's a little more work, but it's worth it! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYVIV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bayville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I thought this was good, but not great. My boyfriend proclaimed that he likes it a lot because "it's not too tomatoey."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emissy85
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Such a yummy soup! Heres what I did different: I cooked some onion and garlic in the pot before adding the chicken broth. Let that simmer for maybe 15-20 minutes or so. I then added a can of homemade tomatoes and a can of condensed soup. I let that simmer for another 10 minutes to let it thicken up. I ran it through the blender to take out the chunks and then added the half and half. I also used much more pesto then what the recipe calls for. I stirred it right into the pot rather then spooning it out into the bowls...probably about a 1/4 cup or so. Turned out delicious! I served it with toasted chicken salad sandwiches for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lsmarie04

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwood, New York, USA
Living In: Madrid, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
This soup is amazing! Like another reviewer I did not wait for the chicken stock to reduce, just drained liquid from one can of tomatoes and it turned out fantastic! I also added some celery salt which added a ton of flavor and some dried basil. Also diced up some onion before blending. It was sooo good, I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
absoultely amazing i used this entire recipe the only thing i changed was that i changed was that i used a cup of whipped cream instead of the half and half. my 10 yr old son is a vegetarian and loves the tom. soup he cant tell it has chicken broth in it something u can change to have a richer taste (even though i dont do it if my son eats it) is that u can use chix stock instead of broth. this soup is amazing w french bread to dip or croutons in it if u like the bread in it. the pesto gives it an extra kick this is the first thing i have ever cooked off of here and its a must try.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Super easy and delicious! I sprinkled it with grated Parmesan cheese and a Texas toast crouton before serving. My guests were impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Not your everyday cream of tomato soup...what a way to kick it up a notch!!! Served with Italian grilled cheese with prosciutto! Simple, easy, and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
This is a fantastic recipe! My husband raves about it! My own "tweaks" to this recipe are to add the pesto (I preferred sundried tomato pesto to green pesto) while the soup is heating and before adding the cream. Also, as I didn't have canned tomatoes with garlic and onion, I added roughly 1/2 an onion and 2 garlic cloves before blending. Thanks for a great recipe, DASKDS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Ignatius, Montana, USA
Living In: Fleet, Hampshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Not the most popular soup with the testers, but the classroom team liked this one. You do need to be a pesto fan to enjoy this, maybe that was the key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
I made it with fresh garlic and onions. This was ok. Not one of my top ten favorite soups though. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States