Cream of Sweet Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
This was really great, and it was exactly what I had been craving. Here are my adjustments: I used skim milk instead of cream (what I had on hand, & wanted to keep fat down), crushed red pepper instead of cayenne (what I had on hand), and added a sprinkle of dried ground ginger. It had just the right amount of bite to tease the palate but certainly would not be classified as spicy. Would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
This soup is AWESOME and was so creamy! I just boiled the sweet potatoes in the chicken broth (I used much less than recipe called for... bout 36oz), with some chopped onion and then used an emulsifier while adding the other ingredients. Plus, used smart balance 1% milk instead of cream and it worked great and is much healthier! I'm definitely making this again and I highly recommend it to anyone who likes sweet potatoes! :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *m*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
This soup was surprisingly wonderful. I made it for my family - the men in my family loved it! It's very filling, though, so a little goes a long way. Don't get overzealous with the servings. I made a simple green salad with dried cranberries, blue cheese crumbles and honey balsamic vinniagrette to go along with the meal, and served pita chips with the soup. Wonderful meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
This was SOOO delicious! If I wasn't such a well mannered person I would have licked the bowl! My whole family liked it, too. I did make one alteration. I used 1% milk instead of heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomsbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cromwell, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
This is the best! It's simple to make; it can be made the day before and refrigerated and it is absolutely delicious. My guests loved it. I used 5% cream and even tried skim milk. It would delicous both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IACBY
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
Delicious and easy to make! I just made it tonight-- Used Vegetable broth instead of chicken, but otherwise used the same recipe. Thank you-- I'll be sure to make it a few more times this winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IACBY

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
My husband was going to open a can of soup because he did not think he would like this. I made him have a taste with a slice of homemade beer bread from this site, he put the can away and got himself a bowl. Very yummy. I used half and half instead of cream and I could not find my nutmeg so I used ginger, oh, and i only used 4 cups of chicken broth instead of 3 cans. thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Great recipe and quick too! Baking the sweet potatoes adds a nice richness and you could get away with no cream or milk at all for a no fat soup. I added 1/2 tsp cumin and used half and half instead of heavy cream because that is what I had on hand. A stick blender makes quick work of blending this soup. This one is a keeper. Thanks for sharing it! I'll make this often I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carpentersville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I had a hard time with this soup. I liked it and I didn't like it, how about that for wishy washy! The soup was exactly what it was supposed to be, but I didn't love the sweetness of the sweet potato in the soup. "What exactly were you expecting", you ask? "When you make sweet potato soup", you say, "it is supposed to taste like sweet potatoes". Okay, so it doesn't make sense, but I still didn't love it. The soup had a nice texture and good sweet flavor, but for me to really like it, it would have needed to get a little more savory. The addition of sauteed onion or more chicken flavor might have saved it for me, or maybe adding one regular potato to mellow it out, but it was just too "sweet potatoey". I think I will stick to less assertive vegetables for my soups, like butternut squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This is an excellent, easy "go to" soup recipe! I've made it about 10 times now, and it's always excellent. I have made a few changes on occasion: I leave out the cayenne (I never buy it, don't care for it). Sometimes I use veggie broth instead of chicken, depending on what i have on hand. Last time I added a bit of apple cider and it was also delicious. Once in a while I change up the spices - I might add a bit of ginger and cinnamon, or even some curry. As is or with any of those little changes, it always turns out great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peru, Indiana, USA
Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States