Cream of Sweet Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
what a simple yet very tasty soup. I was short on the sweet potatoes so I added one can(the small size)of cut sweet potatoes to the fresh ones and pureed them together. YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
I liked this soup, it had a nice flavor and could be served with something more substantial - I don't know what though... My family loves sweet potatoes, but were NOT fans of this soup and would rate it much lower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
Very good, and very easy! I used skim milk instead of cream for a low-fat version!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
As usual I used the recipe as a starting point and was pretty pleased with the results. Instead of putting potatoes in the oven I peeled and cut mine (only 2 of them) added an onion, wrapped them in foil and baked at 400 degrees for about 40 min till everything was soft. I used about half the broth, pureed the pototoes and onions put the puree on the stove to simmer and added a cup of coconut milk (I had some on hand that I needed to use up.) After tasting the mixture I added a pinch of brown sugar, the nutmeg, a pinch of ginger and a pinch of ground cloves. It tastes pretty good. The coconut milk adds A LOT. I can't imagine what the soup would taste like without it! Have fun with this one! You can do just about anything you want... (within reason) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This soup was pretty good. Buut I would not try to use it as a meal. It would make a nice accompaniment to a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonchyldcrab82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Wonderful soup. I used whole milk and it worked fine. Be careful when adding caynenne pepper! A little goes a long way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
My husband said 5, I said 4, but I'll give it the benefit of the difference. He says it would go great with Thai food, I agree. It has a bit of a MILD curry taste, quite good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HERMIEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Branson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
What a good way to eat more sweet potatoes! I used red pepper flakes instead of the cayenne pepper and it worked out fine. Next time I would try 2% milk instead of the cream. This is super filling - I just had some and now I kind of want to take a nap under my desk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
This was good! I skipped the sugar and milk and still really enjoyed this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
As others, found that I needed more sugar that the recipe called for. A packet or two of Splenda did the trick. I have finally realized that I do not like nutmeg, so I will be omitting that in the future. Good, easy fall/winter recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Riding, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States