Cream of Sweet Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Delicious. Added sauted shallots on top and used yogurt instead of cream. Very light and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Excellent soup. Full of fiber and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fletcher Warren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Charleston, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Great recipe and quick too! Baking the sweet potatoes adds a nice richness and you could get away with no cream or milk at all for a no fat soup. I added 1/2 tsp cumin and used half and half instead of heavy cream because that is what I had on hand. A stick blender makes quick work of blending this soup. This one is a keeper. Thanks for sharing it! I'll make this often I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carpentersville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
It was a little on the sweet side, next time I'd use less sugar. My husband who hates sweet potatoes liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This soup is delicious and quite easy to make. For some reason mine turned out a bit lumpy though. I don't know if this has to do with the fact that I boiled my potatoes first
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brockville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I liked how easy the recipe is and that I could use things I had onhand to make it. I used leftover sweet potato casserole that I blended in the blender first. The recipe was very adaptable. I liked trying the mix-in of a lil peanut butter in my serving. I wish that I'd had the low-sodium broth to get rid of the salty after taste. I added a few cashews for a garnish. I'll try cinnamon or ginger for some extra spice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany E.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I had a hard time with this soup. I liked it and I didn't like it, how about that for wishy washy! The soup was exactly what it was supposed to be, but I didn't love the sweetness of the sweet potato in the soup. "What exactly were you expecting", you ask? "When you make sweet potato soup", you say, "it is supposed to taste like sweet potatoes". Okay, so it doesn't make sense, but I still didn't love it. The soup had a nice texture and good sweet flavor, but for me to really like it, it would have needed to get a little more savory. The addition of sauteed onion or more chicken flavor might have saved it for me, or maybe adding one regular potato to mellow it out, but it was just too "sweet potatoey". I think I will stick to less assertive vegetables for my soups, like butternut squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Delicious! Slightly sweet, creamy, and delicately flavored. This was a hit at dinner last night with my boyfriend and can't wait to serve this at Thanksgiving dinner! Thanks for an EASY and yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA
Living In: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This is really good. I made the following changes: I did this in my slow cooker: peel/cut up the sweet potatoes and put in the crock pot with broth/water, brown sugar, nutmeg and pepper. Low for 6 hours. Then use immersion blender to puree, add whole milk, and mix with immersion blender again. Enjoy! Am going to try with apples instead of brown sugar - will post my modification if it turns out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LCSum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fawn Grove, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I realized after I was almost finished making this that I didnt have any nutmeg so I am not sure what I am missing in this dish without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States