Cream of Sweet Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Yummy! I made it with 1% milk instead of cream, and served it with small pieces of yellow cake (without frosting) as a dessert. Such a great option for healthier dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
DELICIOUS! Excellent use for sweet potatoes. The only thing I changed was swapping milk instead of cream and adding some garlic. SOOOOO GOOD! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Awesome soup and so easy to prepare. My husband and I loved it. I didn't add the brown sugar and it was still sweet enough, and I used 1% milk in lieu of the cream. This reminds me of another soup that I prepare on a weekly basis - carrot soup. My husband can't get enough of it....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Our daughter made this soup for dinner tonight because all of us love sweet potatoes, they are packed with vitamins and it was a good "soup night" -- cold and snowy. It was absolutely delicious! She even substituted skim evaporated milk for the heavy cream (to make it healthier and less fatty) and it was still great! So quick and easy, too, because she simply cooked the potatoes in the microwave. Will definitely have this soup again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This soup is delicious and so easy to prepare!!! I did make a few changes though. First I didn't add the sugar, salt, nutmeg or cayenne. Instead I added Club House Indian Masala. OMG!! It turned the soup into a creamy curry sweet potato soup. Sweet potato and curry are just made for each other. My husband and kids loved it! Thanks for the great idea. I'll definitely be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This is very good. I made it a bit thicker, mostly because all I had was 32 oz of chicken stock available. It is very good. Things that I did slightly differently was just chicken stock instead of broth, red pepper flakes instead of cayenne pepper, and half-n-half instead of cream. Very good. I'll be adding this to my soup recipe file! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I added butter and more chicken broth to make it runnier. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Delicious. Added sauted shallots on top and used yogurt instead of cream. Very light and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Excellent soup. Full of fiber and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gammy Cakes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Charleston, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Great recipe and quick too! Baking the sweet potatoes adds a nice richness and you could get away with no cream or milk at all for a no fat soup. I added 1/2 tsp cumin and used half and half instead of heavy cream because that is what I had on hand. A stick blender makes quick work of blending this soup. This one is a keeper. Thanks for sharing it! I'll make this often I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carpentersville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States