Cream of Sweet Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Absolutely love this recipe!!! Very easy and the taste is so good. Instead of baking the potatoes I boil them. I boil them until they get semi soft to the point I can peel off the outer layer very easily. If you are more into super sweetness, then use very little cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
This has quickly become a family favorite. Super easy to make and tastes delicious even when cutting a few corners! (I boil them instead of baking them.) Also, we added shrimp and a pinch of ginger. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AppleJax

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Super easy, amazingly elegant. I microwaved the sweet potatoes. I am glad I did not include the sugar. The little touch of cayenne gave it an intriguing touch without making it overtly spicy. I will definitely make this again as directed, but I want to experiment with ginger and curry, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Family loved it! I used 4 large sweet potatoes, a carton of chicken broth (28 oz), 3/4 cup half & half, about 1/2 tsp of cayenne pepper and about 1/4 tsp of ginger. also used a little more brown sugar and nutmeg than recipe calls for as I made a larger amount. It had a little "kick" which was perfect for me as I do not like spicy food and perfect for husband who does!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
It's nice to see healthy sweet potatoes as the main ingredient in a dish aside from just the Thanksgiving sides and this recipe fills the bill. I made the following adjustments: used 1/3 c FF evaporated milk instead of the cream, and added roasted pumpkin seeds as a garnish. Served with fresh pita chips. DELISH! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
It was rather par, but I feel like it was more on our execution than the actual recipe. I'll be trying again and it will hopefully be 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This was interesting. It was good, but not fabulous as many of the reviews stated. Kind of an odd mix of sweet and savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Followed the recipe with a few exceptions: (1) Microwaved the sweet potatoes, (2) used the blender, (3) substituted sour cream for heavy cream. We loved the spicy and sweet combo! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Great recipe. Just a little kick with the Cayenne but generally a sweet dish. Used boiled and peeled sweet potatoes and sped the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I hate sweet potatoes in general but I love this soup. I added turkey sausage as a garnish. I will be making this for Thanksgiving instead of candied sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States