Cream of Sweet Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I followed the recipe to the letter and it was amazing! Simple to make,I baked the potatoes for 8 minutes(turn the potato over halfway through the cooking time.) Both my boyfriend and I loved it,he asked me if I can make it once a week :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
This is delicious. I didn't have a way to puree so I just boiled and whisked/mashed. Next time, I might not use heavy cream, as it was a bit heavy. I served it hot because I didn't have time to cool it but the next day, it was delicious cool. I didn't have standalone nutmeg so I used an apple pie spice that made for some cool flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Nice, but not my favorite sweet potato soup. I found it a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by courteepoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Absolutely love this recipe!!! Very easy and the taste is so good. Instead of baking the potatoes I boil them. I boil them until they get semi soft to the point I can peel off the outer layer very easily. If you are more into super sweetness, then use very little cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
This has quickly become a family favorite. Super easy to make and tastes delicious even when cutting a few corners! (I boil them instead of baking them.) Also, we added shrimp and a pinch of ginger. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AppleJax

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Super easy, amazingly elegant. I microwaved the sweet potatoes. I am glad I did not include the sugar. The little touch of cayenne gave it an intriguing touch without making it overtly spicy. I will definitely make this again as directed, but I want to experiment with ginger and curry, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Family loved it! I used 4 large sweet potatoes, a carton of chicken broth (28 oz), 3/4 cup half & half, about 1/2 tsp of cayenne pepper and about 1/4 tsp of ginger. also used a little more brown sugar and nutmeg than recipe calls for as I made a larger amount. It had a little "kick" which was perfect for me as I do not like spicy food and perfect for husband who does!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
It's nice to see healthy sweet potatoes as the main ingredient in a dish aside from just the Thanksgiving sides and this recipe fills the bill. I made the following adjustments: used 1/3 c FF evaporated milk instead of the cream, and added roasted pumpkin seeds as a garnish. Served with fresh pita chips. DELISH! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
It was rather par, but I feel like it was more on our execution than the actual recipe. I'll be trying again and it will hopefully be 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
This was interesting. It was good, but not fabulous as many of the reviews stated. Kind of an odd mix of sweet and savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States