Cream of Sweet Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Made this for a friend recovering from surgery - she loved it! Substituted dairy free coconut milk creamer for the cream because of a dairy allergy. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I love this recipe! I've made my own slight tweak of it, just for the sake of using less dishes. I cut up and boil my sweet potatoes in the chicken stock. Then I add my spices/brown sugar, mix those in using a wooden spoon so that the sweet potatoes start to mash. Then I refrigerate it till dinner time. Then I puree the whole thing with my blender before reheating the potato mixture and finally adding the cream at the end. My husband adores this recipe as well, and we love eating it with a bit of toasted brioche on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This was an awesome recipe, but due to the fact we have little time in our busy house, we made a short cut which turned out perfect. instead of baking the potatoes we peeled cut to small pieces and then put all ingredience except the cream in a big pot and let boil for 40 mins. then pureed till smooth with hand blender. Then stirred n cream and let sit for 10 mins and served. It saved us 1 hour of time and turned out perfectly. I will make it again the same way. everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OnOurOwnAgain

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hope
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Very tasty! I had sweet potato soup at a fancy restaurant and decided to try to make it at home. This recipe came awful close to what I had at the restaurant. I boiled the potatoes rather than baked them, and then used less chicken broth b/c I wanted a thicker soup. After that, I was happy with the consistency and taste, so didn't add dairy. It probably would have jazzed it up a bit, but I was already pleased with how it tasted! I also added some sliced almonds and dried cranberries on top of the soup. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
What did I think of this? I think that it's awesome! Since becoming a widower, as much as I used to enjoy cooking up nice dinners for the two of us, cooking for one most nights became almost a bit of a necessity rather that a pleasure. So I just look for easy, relatively quick and at least somewhat healthy things to whip up- and this fits the bill to a T. As one person suggested, I just cook up the sweet potatoes in the chicken both- much easier and still as tasty, and then follow the recipe from there. I've also started to add a good-sized shallot, diced up and simmered it for the last couple of minutes before blending it all together in the pot. Subbed dried red pepper flakes for the cayenne- personal preference only- and it all turns out wonderfully. Quick, easy, tasty. What else is there? Thanks, Zoe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I followed the recipe completely. It is wonderful. I'm picky and this is the first recipe in a long time that I will repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
This soup was amazing, i would add a bit less brown suger, had it with fresh rolls, very filling and a great dinner with out the meat. vegitarians would love this,and high in vitiamines too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I followed the recipe to the letter and it was amazing! Simple to make,I baked the potatoes for 8 minutes(turn the potato over halfway through the cooking time.) Both my boyfriend and I loved it,he asked me if I can make it once a week :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
This is delicious. I didn't have a way to puree so I just boiled and whisked/mashed. Next time, I might not use heavy cream, as it was a bit heavy. I served it hot because I didn't have time to cool it but the next day, it was delicious cool. I didn't have standalone nutmeg so I used an apple pie spice that made for some cool flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Nice, but not my favorite sweet potato soup. I found it a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by courteepoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States