Cream of Spinach Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Excellent! Made it exactly as written. Used whole milk. Wow, a great tasting recipe as is and also a great cream soup base recipe for adding all kinds of vegetables, cheese, meat, etc. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garfield, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I used fresh spinach and real onion. Also added a sprinkle of garlic powder, red pepper flakes, and red pepper along with the salt and pepper. So simple, easy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I doubled the recipe and followed some of the suggestions from the other reviewers. I sauteed the onion and garlic briefly. I substituted soy milk for regular milk and vegetarian bouillon for chicken. The soup came out great. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmihalo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Munster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This was a great recipe for someone who had never made a "cream of..." anything soup. I don't really measure when I make most things, but this recipe was a good guideline, and the soup turned out pretty yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tumwater, Washington, USA
Living In: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Very good...also added shredded carrots to it to bulk up the veggies....used fat free 1/2 and 1/2 and thickened with some cornstarch and water. Added a pinch of nutmeg as well.....delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Love this soup as is, but I can see by the reviews anything can be done with it. Will try many different ways as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Really liked this recipe... make it exactly.. tasted GREAT then with leftovers decided to add some small chopped bacon (from Costco). Very nice addition!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Pretty good, basic recipe. To give it more depth, I sauteed 1 TBSP of minced garlic in with the butter and added 1 TBSP of soy sauce just before serving. I also thickened it more with potato flakes...that is just a personal preference as I like thicker cream soups. I will make this again, and try it with other frozen vegetables, as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dragonflyhearts24
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Tasted great but a little bland in flavor. I added more minced onion and it did help. I will keep this recipe in my box for future use!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
this is a great starter recipe. i've used this recipe as a base for other soups. i've used this to make broccoli soup and even a seafood soup. when i make it with spinach i think it looks nicer with fresh spinach, the fresh spinach has a nice bright green color. it tastes pretty much the same with frozen spinach but it's more of a dark dull green.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States