Cream of Spinach Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
WOW. This delicious soup saved me on a night when I thought my pregnancy-related nausea was going to prevent me from eating ANYTHING. I found this gem searching for spinach recipes because that was the only thing that sounded remotely appetizing. Boiled my 5-oz box of fresh spinach in a can of vegetable broth with some fresh diced onion, fresh garlic, and a handful of green peas and broccoli. Blended that until very smooth and stirred it into the 1-cup milk, 1-cup half and half cream base. Incredibly smooth, rich, and satisfying. I seasoned mine with s&p, FRESH basil, and a healthy dash of nutmeg. In my opinion, the fresh basil and nutmeg are a MUST.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megamuffin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Following the other reviews advice of using cream, cayenne, celery salt, garlic powder, nutmeg, thyme and fresh onion I used my immersion blender then served this up to my husband. The look on his face when served green soup was hilarious. But....He loved it. Thanks for a great core recipe and great "tweaks" by the other chefs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindiW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, Michigan, USA
Living In: Midland, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Fantastic soup! I used fresh spinach from the Farmer's Market and it was delicious! All I did was boil the spinach until tender and blended in the blender for 30 seconds. It gave it a nice deep green look and I didn't even have to season it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Quick & easy. This took less than 10 minutes from start to finish. This is the perfect soup to make for someone that is scared of making soup, doesn't like to chop veggies, the beginner to the expert. I was excited to find this recipe with spinach. Once I started, I realized I had about a third of what the recipe called for. So I improvised by adding frozen broccoli and peas to round out the green. Once heated and added to the roux/milk mix, I used my immersion blender to puree the soup. Outstanding, thick flavor. Even forgetting to add the salt and pepper, I had three bowls of it. I can't think of any improvements needed to this recipe! Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Rios Morrison

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
This soup is so good. I put tomatoes in it with the spinach. SOO GOOD. I do use whole milk and extra butter as well but I'm sure it would be fine without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This was sooo GOOD! Coming from a person who doesn't like spinach soup, I LOVED THIS!!! I had to double the recipe, and the only thing I did differently was 1. Use fresh spinach that I chopped ( a whole box. It cooks down nicely.) 2. I did not put anything in the blender. The color was gorgeous. 3. I took the advice of other reviewers an added 1/4 tsp. thyme, and celery seed. l also added a pinch of nutmeg. 4. I used fresh garlic and onion. 5. I used 1 c. of heavy whipping cream. This was so good with garlic bread. Overall, a wonderful meal, that I will be and again this winter! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Saline, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Took the advice of other and added garlic powder. Also added parmensan cheese once the soup was in bowls and it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
excellent flavor and easy preparation. My mom is visiting, she is pretty picky and she loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
just made this for lunch with fresh spinach, was awesome! great change of pace. Try it, you wont be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabrina Ricker Lawrence
Living In: Yuma, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This cream of spinach is so delicious and so easy to make! I'm pregnant and trying to incorporate more greens in my diet and this is a great way to do it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States