Cream of Spinach Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by bstoner
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I followed the recipe exact. I did add a dash of garlic powder and garnished with shred mozzarella cheese. My family loved it. Including my 14 month who hates milk and spinach!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Loved it! Took on suggestions to add cheese and broccoli - as well as a dash of red chili flakes and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
My family enjoys this recipe as is! YUM!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
yummy soup. I followed the suggestions of the top reviewer and added some more spices. Also, will use this recipe for a base for "spinach a la creme" by leaving out the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I thought this recipe as is was a little bland. So I spiced it up a bit with dried basil and thyme. I also added sauteed onions, celery and garlic as well as some grated carrots. I hand blended the soup and topped with a sprinkle of parmesan cheese. It turned out very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
This was outstanding. Easy and fast to prepare. I used bouillon cubes with the herbs incorporated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Decent soup... I like that you can adjust the recipe to include different veggies. I blended it with my immersion blender to make it more creamy and less leafy. If I make it again, I'll try some of the suggested upgrades like parmesan or swiss cheese. I put a bit of white rice in there to make it more filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I didn't have broth or bulllion so I boiled a celery stalk, half of a bell pepper, garlic cloves and salt with the spinach. Then I grated 1/2 of an onion and sauteed it with the butter before adding the flour. I blended half of the celery stalk with the spinach for extra flavor, discarding the bell pepper. Then some thyme, parsley and salt. Pretty tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I've made spinach soup from fresh spinach since I saw a recipe on the back of the bag of fresh spinach back in the 90's. That soup was awesome. This recipe is very similar except for the frozen spinach and lack of parmesan cheese. I've tried to copy that recipe since because I figured it would be included on the next bag of spinach I bought, I didn't cut out the recipe. But not so lucky. I know that nutmeg is in the recipe just not how much. I see some people have altered the recipe to include the nutmeg though. Try adding about 3/4 cup or so of parmesan cheese into the soup...you will love it. I do anyway. I've even substituted part mozzarella and part parmesan. Today I used heavy cream because it would get old otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by agadoelleon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lufkin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I had a BIG Costco bag of fresh spinach which I wanted to make a dent in so I chopped up about a pound or so. I did this in one pot. I sauteed 1/2 an onion in some EVOO until it began to brown & added 1 clove garlic & a dash of red pepper flakes,added butter to pot and about 3 T flour and cooked for about 2-3 minutes. Added 1 can chicken broth, spinach & cut back to 2 cups 1/2 n 1/2 so it would be thicker. Let is simmer a few minutes until the spinach was soft then went into pot with my immersion blender but left some of the texture...delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States