Cream of Spinach Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This was fabulous!! I used a 10 oz. bag of fresh spinach that I roughly chopped into small spoon size cuts. I used 2 c 2% milk and 1 c heavy cream, fresh sauteed onion (nearly caramelized) and garlic in olive oil, cayenne, nutmeg, thyme, S/P & Parmesan cheese. I did not puree. This made an absolutely WONDERFUL soup that both I and my 18 month old enjoyed! She gobbled it up...spinach pieces and all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gilberts, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Following the recipe as is I would only rate this 3 out of 5 stars. Do the following and its definately a 5 star recipe. I thought it was too plain. Take out the water and bouilloon; use chicken broth instead (better & fuller flavor) Use 2 cups of half & half and 1 cup of milk. Substitute 1/4 cup fresh minced onion instead of dried. Add 2 cup of shredded swiss cheese. 1. Saute onion in butter in large saucepan until onion is soft. 2. Add 1/4 c flour, wisk with butter and onion until well mixed. Pour in chicken broth, wisking rapidly to ensure everything mixes well. 3. Add spinach. Bring to a boil. 4. Add cream & milk. 5. Add cheese, stirring constantly until all cheese is melted. 6. Season to taste. (I also added two drops of roasted habinaro sauce which has a really nice flavor without making it spicy. I hate black pepper so I use other peppers) This soup was very filling and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScratchCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Beautiful Recipe, I normally cook using 2x the ingredients so a family of four can injoy it and have seconds on hand. I am a big soup fan and I cannot find anything in resturants that compare to this easy creation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Easy and delicious! Only change I made was to saute some onion in the butter before adding the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Cardenas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lyndhurst, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
i'm glad i found a recipe for cream of spinach soup that didn't call for half and half...that stuff packs a lot of calories! my only comment is that, because the soup is cooked separately, don't season the cream too much. the chicken stock is already plenty seasoned, so it's easy to overseason and make the soup too salty once the two seconds are combined.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Tasty and easy. I did this in a slow cooker and added the milk and flour mixture at the very end. It was great and my picky husband even like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oceanminded78

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This soup was great! I minced about 1/8 cup of onions and one clove of garlic in the butter, then added the flour. After adding spinach, I added a little salt, pepper, garlic powder, cayenne pepper, and a pinch of paprika. I used 2 cups of fat free half and half and 1 cup of skim milk. I did need to add a little more flour to thicken it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
It came out quite creamy without using cream! It was quick and simple to make. I used fresh spinach, it worked great! I love the texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This soup is wonderful. You also can put some grated cheese on before eating. Enjoy MMMMMMM!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States