Cream of Spinach Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Huaranga

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Excellent method!! thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Very good! Gave it 4 stars because needed small changes. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Used fresh spinach and it was wonderful. Good chicken stock or bullion is key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
This was very easy to make and tasted delicious. Squeezed some lemon into it at the table, which added a nice tang. I will definitely make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Even though I made this using very different steps, I used the same ingredients and so am rating this a 5 for taste. I had fresh spinach to use, so sauteed it briefly in the butter. Sprinkled the flour on top and mixed well, cooking for a minute or so. Then added the milk, chicken granules, onion powder, and a little nutmeg. Served the blended soup with a garnish of sour cream. Tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I substituted 1 cup half and half for part of the milk, sauteed a diced onion with the butter, and added a few shakes of garlic powder. I also melted in about a cup of shredded cheese at the end. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This was very good. I used 2 cups skim & 1 cup 2%. I did find that I needed to add more seasonings. I added minced garlic and a generous heaping of crushed red pepper, but I do find that I do that to most creamy soups. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This was fabulous!! I used a 10 oz. bag of fresh spinach that I roughly chopped into small spoon size cuts. I used 2 c 2% milk and 1 c heavy cream, fresh sauteed onion (nearly caramelized) and garlic in olive oil, cayenne, nutmeg, thyme, S/P & Parmesan cheese. I did not puree. This made an absolutely WONDERFUL soup that both I and my 18 month old enjoyed! She gobbled it up...spinach pieces and all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gilberts, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Following the recipe as is I would only rate this 3 out of 5 stars. Do the following and its definately a 5 star recipe. I thought it was too plain. Take out the water and bouilloon; use chicken broth instead (better & fuller flavor) Use 2 cups of half & half and 1 cup of milk. Substitute 1/4 cup fresh minced onion instead of dried. Add 2 cup of shredded swiss cheese. 1. Saute onion in butter in large saucepan until onion is soft. 2. Add 1/4 c flour, wisk with butter and onion until well mixed. Pour in chicken broth, wisking rapidly to ensure everything mixes well. 3. Add spinach. Bring to a boil. 4. Add cream & milk. 5. Add cheese, stirring constantly until all cheese is melted. 6. Season to taste. (I also added two drops of roasted habinaro sauce which has a really nice flavor without making it spicy. I hate black pepper so I use other peppers) This soup was very filling and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScratchCook

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 61-70 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States