Cream of Spinach Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Pretty good, basic recipe. To give it more depth, I sauteed 1 TBSP of minced garlic in with the butter and added 1 TBSP of soy sauce just before serving. I also thickened it more with potato flakes...that is just a personal preference as I like thicker cream soups. I will make this again, and try it with other frozen vegetables, as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dragonflyhearts24
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Tasted great but a little bland in flavor. I added more minced onion and it did help. I will keep this recipe in my box for future use!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
this is a great starter recipe. i've used this recipe as a base for other soups. i've used this to make broccoli soup and even a seafood soup. when i make it with spinach i think it looks nicer with fresh spinach, the fresh spinach has a nice bright green color. it tastes pretty much the same with frozen spinach but it's more of a dark dull green.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Good recipe. To make more lowfat I used skim milk and less butter and1/8 cup flour. Also used a handful of brussel sprouts. Put the spinach and sprouts in the blender when they were tender and kinda pureed them.Good to see that it didnt have heavy creams in this recipe. My sweet diabetic hubby loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Was looking for a recipe to help use up all the spinach I had in the garden. I first stir fried the spinach in an olive oil/garlic mixture to add a touch of flavor. Using another suggestion I also blended the ingredients to get a much finer/thicker soup. The bouillon cubes made it taste too salty so my next attempt will use low sodium chicken broth in place of water (also suggested by someone). BTW, I also had a lot of spinach stems and heck - blended they turned out just like I used the leaves themselves so if you are a gardener you can use the stems to make the soup also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
As written it was too bland. However after making it using the tips from KOliveras comment it was excellent. Will definitely make again! Thanks for the base recipe. It was a good way to get rid of some frozen spinach in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
i didn't expect to like this as much as i did. i rated it four stars because as written it seemed a bit bland to me but w/a just a few tweaks it's delicious. I added some garlic powder and sprinkled parmesan cheese into it. just these 2 additions send it over the moon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sadie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
A quick and easy soup to make with a great flavor. Very kid friendly too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Great soup. I used unsweetened soy milk, added a cup of chopped onion and more spinach and cut out the chicken bouillon, since I am a vegan. Next time I'll try it with broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella M. Michel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Just made this in about 20 minutes. Fast, easy and delicious. I used a can of chicken broth and mixed in a half onion chopped and the garlic to cook with the spinach. I then put that mixture in the blender to make it smooth. I used 3 cups of skim milk and it turned out very creamy, whisking the butter, flour and milk until almost boiling, but not scalding the milk. Then I poured the blended spinach mixture into the butter, flour, milk mixture, turned off the heat, added some cayenne and celery salt. Tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States