Cream of Spinach Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I doubled the recipe and followed some of the suggestions from the other reviewers. I sauteed the onion and garlic briefly. I substituted soy milk for regular milk and vegetarian bouillon for chicken. The soup came out great. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmihalo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Munster, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This was a great recipe for someone who had never made a "cream of..." anything soup. I don't really measure when I make most things, but this recipe was a good guideline, and the soup turned out pretty yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tumwater, Washington, USA
Living In: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Very good...also added shredded carrots to it to bulk up the veggies....used fat free 1/2 and 1/2 and thickened with some cornstarch and water. Added a pinch of nutmeg as well.....delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Love this soup as is, but I can see by the reviews anything can be done with it. Will try many different ways as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Really liked this recipe... make it exactly.. tasted GREAT then with leftovers decided to add some small chopped bacon (from Costco). Very nice addition!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Pretty good, basic recipe. To give it more depth, I sauteed 1 TBSP of minced garlic in with the butter and added 1 TBSP of soy sauce just before serving. I also thickened it more with potato flakes...that is just a personal preference as I like thicker cream soups. I will make this again, and try it with other frozen vegetables, as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dragonflyhearts24
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Tasted great but a little bland in flavor. I added more minced onion and it did help. I will keep this recipe in my box for future use!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
this is a great starter recipe. i've used this recipe as a base for other soups. i've used this to make broccoli soup and even a seafood soup. when i make it with spinach i think it looks nicer with fresh spinach, the fresh spinach has a nice bright green color. it tastes pretty much the same with frozen spinach but it's more of a dark dull green.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Good recipe. To make more lowfat I used skim milk and less butter and1/8 cup flour. Also used a handful of brussel sprouts. Put the spinach and sprouts in the blender when they were tender and kinda pureed them.Good to see that it didnt have heavy creams in this recipe. My sweet diabetic hubby loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Was looking for a recipe to help use up all the spinach I had in the garden. I first stir fried the spinach in an olive oil/garlic mixture to add a touch of flavor. Using another suggestion I also blended the ingredients to get a much finer/thicker soup. The bouillon cubes made it taste too salty so my next attempt will use low sodium chicken broth in place of water (also suggested by someone). BTW, I also had a lot of spinach stems and heck - blended they turned out just like I used the leaves themselves so if you are a gardener you can use the stems to make the soup also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States