Cream of Spinach Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
...oh my God...sooo salty...careful with the chicken bouillon..the proportion is wrong! ..it should be one cube instead of 3!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I followed KOliveras suggestions in review and it was delicious. For spices I added 1/8-1/4 t nutmeg and 1/8 t cayenne, along with salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
I used fresh spinach and added extra chopped onion and sauteed the onion in the butter. This was very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
i love the color of this soup. I was trying to find some new ways to cook spinach and this was perfect. I used fresh spinach. still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jmilli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
The recipe is foolproof; this was my first time making cream of anything and my husband loved it so much that he asked for a second helping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
WOW. This delicious soup saved me on a night when I thought my pregnancy-related nausea was going to prevent me from eating ANYTHING. I found this gem searching for spinach recipes because that was the only thing that sounded remotely appetizing. Boiled my 5-oz box of fresh spinach in a can of vegetable broth with some fresh diced onion, fresh garlic, and a handful of green peas and broccoli. Blended that until very smooth and stirred it into the 1-cup milk, 1-cup half and half cream base. Incredibly smooth, rich, and satisfying. I seasoned mine with s&p, FRESH basil, and a healthy dash of nutmeg. In my opinion, the fresh basil and nutmeg are a MUST.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megamuffin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Following the other reviews advice of using cream, cayenne, celery salt, garlic powder, nutmeg, thyme and fresh onion I used my immersion blender then served this up to my husband. The look on his face when served green soup was hilarious. But....He loved it. Thanks for a great core recipe and great "tweaks" by the other chefs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindiW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, Michigan, USA
Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Fantastic soup! I used fresh spinach from the Farmer's Market and it was delicious! All I did was boil the spinach until tender and blended in the blender for 30 seconds. It gave it a nice deep green look and I didn't even have to season it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Quick & easy. This took less than 10 minutes from start to finish. This is the perfect soup to make for someone that is scared of making soup, doesn't like to chop veggies, the beginner to the expert. I was excited to find this recipe with spinach. Once I started, I realized I had about a third of what the recipe called for. So I improvised by adding frozen broccoli and peas to round out the green. Once heated and added to the roux/milk mix, I used my immersion blender to puree the soup. Outstanding, thick flavor. Even forgetting to add the salt and pepper, I had three bowls of it. I can't think of any improvements needed to this recipe! Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckythebarber

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
This soup is so good. I put tomatoes in it with the spinach. SOO GOOD. I do use whole milk and extra butter as well but I'm sure it would be fine without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States