Cream of Spinach Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
i added fresh onion and garlic when i cooked the spinach. i also used only fresh spinach. when the soup was done i blended half and stirring it all together. i also added 1 tesp cayenne. it was so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
First, my result looked nothing like the picture, which is very green and almost looks like a puree! Mine is creamy looking with spinach green mottled throughout! I used the recipe with these changes and additions (based somewhat on reviews). I did use bouillon cubes, but added a little garlic powder. I cooked 2 small boxes (10 oz ?) of chopped frozen spinach, and used slightly more than one for the recipe, and all the water, saving back about a drained cup for later use (omelettes perhaps). I sauteed about two TBL of finely minced Vidalia onion in the butter along with just a tad of minced garlic (from a jar). I forgot I had the minced garlic and had already added garlic powder, so I did not want to overdo it. I used only 2 1/2 cups of milk and whisked in 1/2 block (4 oz) of yogurt cream cheese. I did this because I had it on hand, but it was expiring soon, and I thought it might add some depth. It took a while to get the cream cheese whisked in. The results, I thought, were fantastic! The best thing is it has none of those "additives" you see in canned cream soups. I'm glad I did not double the recipe though, as this makes a lot of soup for one person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Delicious! Simple and fresh and yummy. I used fresh onion, sauteed in the butter before adding the flour (I used gluten-free flour), and my own chicken stock with just a little bit of boullion added. Mmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I made a few changes, and in the end didn't like it so much until I added sour cream and then thought it was tasted good to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Had a lot of spinach to use up and this was the perfect solution. I did not add as much flour as they asked for so it would be a little more runny and I added some shredder cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This was amazing! I used fresh spinach and gave it a whirl in the blender after sauteing it in the butter with the onion (plus some garlic and thyme). I think I'm ready to win mother of the year too, because my three year old gobbled this down with some Goldfish floating in it.....Shhhh don't tell her there's spinach in it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYJH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Wish it had more flavor and I wish it was thicker even when I tried adding more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Good basic recipe. I added 3 pinches nutmeg and 2 large crushed cloves garlic (for 2lb spinach, doubled the recipe) and this time skipped the roux and just thickened with a cornstarch slurry and some cream. I garnished it with crumbled Havarti cheese and that was a great addition. Because I used Campbell's chicken broth out of the box, I hesitated about salt and we found I should still have added some, but it was all right when we all salted at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I loved the thyme on it, loved the flavors. Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sofia Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I paired this with Spinach Stuffed Shells and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States