Cream of Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Really really great. Use high-quality stock and make extra toasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Great recipe, I added extra of the spices to taste. I did not make the croutons because I didn't feel like it, but I did add brown sugar to the soup. I also used whole milk in place of the heavy cream and thought it was plenty rich and thick. I almost think the heavy cream would have been too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I really enjoyed this soup. It makes the house smell wonderful and tastes great. I was not a fan of the crutons as the sugar on top burned. I will make it again without the crutons though because it's great without them. Used evaporated milk instead of cream for health and threw in extra brown sugar and a dash of cayenne as reviews recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
this came out bland. I followed directions exactly as written. I definitley will more spices next time (maybe double the ones called for) and I will NOT use the whole cup of cream. It came out almost white and not a creamy orange color I was looking for. Maybe just thicken it w/ corn starch and forget the cream. I will experiment next time.....there will definitley be a next time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Loved this soup! I just used less onion and milk instead of cream. Don't forget to read "Pumpkin Soup" to your kids before you make it. They got a kick out of making and eating it because they love the book (and the soup now too).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I use fresh pumpkin by cooking it with the chicken broth and onions, I remove the onions prior to puree and add a packet of Crocks Spicy Soup Mix. Fabulous flavor and no cream needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I agree with the other reviews, I amped up the spices, added brown sugar and doubled the pumpkin and it was divine. I also used evaporated milk in place of the cream to cut fat and calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYFANWYS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This was a really great base soup and turned out really fantastic with the modifications I made. I followed the advice of other reviewers and added extra pumpkin spices as well as brown sugar. Then I substituted the heavy cream with coconut milk and added yellow curry to taste. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Really good! I followed the reviewers suggestions and added about a palmful of brown sugar, used light cream instead of heavy and even my picky 8 year old liked it1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Sorry to be so negative but this was waaaaaay too salty and had absolutely no pumpkin flavor. I followed the directions exactly except for subbing not fat half & half for the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 423) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States