Cream of Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This soup is great! Much more filling than expected. I followed advise of other reviews and add spices to taste. nutmeg, cinnamon, ginger, cayenne pepper and a bit more brown sugar. Do let it cook a bit and then add spices to taste. One thing I do different is use unsweetened coconut milk (organic, canned). This is great for LACTOSE intollerant or dairy avoiders. I have made this recipe 3-4 times of the last couple years and love this time of year for the reminder of ..OH YEA pumpkin soup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shadyside, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
too rich. the flavor is good, and i guess it lives up to the claims because it basically tastes like liquid pumpkin pie. but it was too heavy for any of my guests to enjoy. two bites and then it was overwhelming. on the plus side, it's great as a sauce on ricotta cheese or ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
This soup is pretty tastey, and very festive in the autumn with all the fall flavors. I added 1/8 t. red pepper flakes for some addditional flavor and also threw in some lentils to thicken it up a bit and make it more hardy. Tastey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hannah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Made this for my fiancee who asked for it. I didnt plan on eating it because I've never liked any pumpkin or squash soup, ever. But I absolutely love this soup! I don't think it needs that much cream...leave it out and it would still be rich. Next time I will use 1/4 cup instead. Also, I added a dash of cayenne pepper and used a clove of garlic with the onion in the beginning. This soup is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie King

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Love this soup! Did listen to others and added more spice and a handful of brown sugar. The croutons make this soup! Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Yum! Look forward to making this every fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I love this soup. I also made it using butternut squash instead of the pumpkin. I added a few packets of sweet and low (to my liking) and fat free half and half instead of heavy whipping cream. Amazing! Everyone loved it! Such a nice sweet and warm soup for Fall. Can't wait to make it again for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaycee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
We wanted a savory soup, so we made a few changes. First of all, I pureed my onion before cooking (so that I didn't need to transfer the hot mixture in my processor later) and added 1 carrot and 1 red bell pepper to it. Also, I used -eyeballing- the following spices: curry powder, sweet paprika and cayenne pepper. It was delicious, and the cinnamon croutons were phenomenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
This is a wonderful soup. Very simple and fast to make. You can adjust it to your taste easily. I did not bother with the croutons. I pureed my onions first instead of transfering and blending boiling liquid. This made the process faster and, in my case, safer. I used fat-free half and half instead of heavy cream. I served this soup at a party last week and it was a hit. I was asked for the recipe several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Very good. Simple ingredients that can all be found at home. I have lots of fresh pumpkin puree that needs using up. This is a great way to do it! Thanks for the recipe! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewlster1259

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 435) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States