Cream of Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
This was a great soup. I did add some paprika and garic powder to it and used regualar croutons. Also, instead of simmering it all together after using my food processor I put it in my crockpot for three hours until we were ready to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beccab1980

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulare, California, USA
Living In: Ramstein, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
This is phenomenal. I wouldn't make a "light" version, the heavy cream makes it taste amazing and if this is going to hasten my death from high cholesterol, it's worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Couldn't believe how popular this was at Thanksgiving! Definitely more like a bisque. It was good, but not my favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Great soup! (with alterations). Added celery and red pepper in addition to the onion. Substituted 2% milk for the cream. Doubled the spices in recipe and added 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper, 1/2 tsp cumin, 1 tbs ancho chili powder and few sprinkles of chicken bouillon. Topped with chopped scallions. AMAZING version. Beefy and sweet at the same time, with a mellow spice kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovemypoms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Made this several times from Halloween through Christmas. I took it to family gatherings where some people were a bit skeptical. Everyone loved it! Even non-pumpkin lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sedro Woolley, Washington, USA
Living In: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
This was so yummy, its like pumkin pie soup. I added about 1/4 cup brown sugar to sweetened it up a bit. Used half and half instead of heavy cream, you would never know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I made this without the croutons and it was still delicious! I didn't follow exactly, adding sauteed carrots and bell peppers for some extra vitamins, but used all of the main ingredients. I also used a real pumpkin instead of the canned as here in Germany they don't can pumpkin. Just baked it in the oven until soft, removed the skin and mashed. I will used this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This will be a new favorite soup for me- it is delicious! I didn't bother with the bread, halved the recipe, sauteed the onions until they carmelized, added a tablespoon of maple syrup, didn't bother to blend it, and used evaporated milk in place of the whipping cream. This was mellow, creamy, and nicely balanced in flavors and I can't wait to have some more tomorrow. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fanciful Unicorn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I added garlic powder to this soup. It was rich and velvety, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Very disappointed. The soup is very watery - broth-like and tasted more like cream with pumpkin than pumpkin with cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 61-70 (of 423) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States