Cream of Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Savory, sweet, spicy...it hit all the right notes. Beautiful color and texture. My changes= 1/5x the canned pumpkin (made the pumpkin pop), 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper (the smoky spicy addition complemented the sweet squash well), 3/4 the amount of heavy cream (so I could feel like it was healthier), and 1/4c. brown sugar added slowly to taste (added just a bit of sweetness that played up the pumpkin and dulled the heavy oniony flavor). I think next time I will whip up the remaining heavy cream with some powdered sugar and vanilla and add a dollop to the top of the soup just for fun. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Very easy, pretty good taste. But little to salty for me. I will cut some salt down next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vongruenigen
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
The best pumpkin soup I've ever made. It's a staple in my house come fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
It was good but I did change a few things. I served it in a bread bowl that I had added some cinnamon and nutmeg to the dough so I left out the croutons. Also I added more seasonings and added a handful of brown sugar in with the seasonings. Other than that I didnt change anything and my boyfriend who swore he was gonna hate it actually enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Awesome recipe. My family and I loved it. I stuck to the original recipe and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Look no further this is the soup you want. Just add 1/4 cup of light brown sugar to add a touch of sweetness. Ignore the poor reviews...I did & I'm one happy woman for it. Im saving this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This was really great if you add some of the additions stated by other reviewers. I added a handful of brown sugar to the soup, a little nutmeg, a little cayanne pepper, and double the amount of ginger and cinnamon. I loved the croutons, great addition. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I rate 5 stars but I did do it quite differently... I didn't use butter--boiled the onion in water mixed with salted chicken broth and two chopped potatoes. Once cooked, I blended this (in portions) and returned it to the pot. Next, I blended the pumpkin with 2% milk and added it to the pot with the blended onion/potatoes. Added cinnamon, ginger, ground black pepper, 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper, and a few shakes of cloves & nutmeg...and salt to taste. (I didn't need to add salt because it was in the chicken broth) Delicious. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This soup is great! Much more filling than expected. I followed advise of other reviews and add spices to taste. nutmeg, cinnamon, ginger, cayenne pepper and a bit more brown sugar. Do let it cook a bit and then add spices to taste. One thing I do different is use unsweetened coconut milk (organic, canned). This is great for LACTOSE intollerant or dairy avoiders. I have made this recipe 3-4 times of the last couple years and love this time of year for the reminder of ..OH YEA pumpkin soup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shadyside, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
too rich. the flavor is good, and i guess it lives up to the claims because it basically tastes like liquid pumpkin pie. but it was too heavy for any of my guests to enjoy. two bites and then it was overwhelming. on the plus side, it's great as a sauce on ricotta cheese or ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 423) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States