Cream of Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Fantastic soup! Came out rich and creamy! I never tried a pumpkin soup before I made this so I can't tell you how it compares to others. All I can say this was very tasty and that I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I would use light cream instead of heavy cream. The cream overpowered the pumpkin and it tasted more like cream of onion soup. So I added more pumpkin to compensate the threw in a sprig of fresh thyme for a little more flavor. I gave it five stars based on my modifications but if I were to rate it on the original recipe, would have rated it at four stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I converted this to a lighter, heart healthy version and I liked ita lot. I made double the recipe. I used a real pumpkin that I cooked and pureed. I used canola oil instead of butter for sauteeing the onion, and I used a can of light coconut milk instead of cream to bring the calories down and contribute to heart health. I also used more spice than the recipe called for and I added some alspice. Instead of croutons, I roasted the pumpkin seeds with paprika and sprinkled them on top. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
SUPER yummy, cream, autumnal soup-- perfect with smoked turkey sandwiches. Important thing to note: If you used the amount of salt the recipe calls for, this dish would almost certainly be inedible. I used regular chicken broth and maybe 1/4 tsp. additional salt. Even that was almost too salty. So go easy on the salt! I also added additional cinnamon and about 1/4 tsp. nutmeg, and I did not make the croutons. This will definitely be a "go-to" fall staple in our house! Although I may cut back on the fat next time...it's extremely rich with all the cream and butter (I went exactly by the recipe on those amounts).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSERS11581

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I finally got around to making this soup and totally regret not making it sooner! What an amazing fall soup to add to my collection! Of course, I followed the suggestions of others and added a pinch more of spice here and there and even added nutmeg and the glob of brown sugar everyone suggested. I cut back to 1/2 cup of onion (I always cut back my onions). It was awesome! I must say, if you enjoy pumpkin then I really don't see why you wouldn't completely love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Muncy, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Just made this recipe and it turned out great!!!! I made them mini muffins, baked about 15 min, and used mini chips instead. Will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I just finished making this. I used my own homemade pumpkin puree and added some extra cinnamon, pumpkin spice and nutmeg and an 1/8 cup of brown sugar. I'm not sure of the quantities as I "eyeball" spices. I added a dollop of sour cream too. I did taste it before I added anything extra. It was good but changed it to suit my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I doubled the recipe for my family of four and we finished it all. Even my two small children (7 and 6) loved it - it was delicious! I did leave out the salt and add some garlic but otherwise followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
This is a very good soup! I do recommend adding brown sugar, more cinnamon, more ginger and a little nutmeg though. The croutons are perfect with this soup. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Fantastic! I make this soup every time we need a little reminder of fall in our house. It's my favorite soup of all time! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 435) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States