Cream of Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I converted this to a lighter, heart healthy version and I liked ita lot. I made double the recipe. I used a real pumpkin that I cooked and pureed. I used canola oil instead of butter for sauteeing the onion, and I used a can of light coconut milk instead of cream to bring the calories down and contribute to heart health. I also used more spice than the recipe called for and I added some alspice. Instead of croutons, I roasted the pumpkin seeds with paprika and sprinkled them on top. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
SUPER yummy, cream, autumnal soup-- perfect with smoked turkey sandwiches. Important thing to note: If you used the amount of salt the recipe calls for, this dish would almost certainly be inedible. I used regular chicken broth and maybe 1/4 tsp. additional salt. Even that was almost too salty. So go easy on the salt! I also added additional cinnamon and about 1/4 tsp. nutmeg, and I did not make the croutons. This will definitely be a "go-to" fall staple in our house! Although I may cut back on the fat next time...it's extremely rich with all the cream and butter (I went exactly by the recipe on those amounts).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSERS11581

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I finally got around to making this soup and totally regret not making it sooner! What an amazing fall soup to add to my collection! Of course, I followed the suggestions of others and added a pinch more of spice here and there and even added nutmeg and the glob of brown sugar everyone suggested. I cut back to 1/2 cup of onion (I always cut back my onions). It was awesome! I must say, if you enjoy pumpkin then I really don't see why you wouldn't completely love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Muncy, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Just made this recipe and it turned out great!!!! I made them mini muffins, baked about 15 min, and used mini chips instead. Will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I just finished making this. I used my own homemade pumpkin puree and added some extra cinnamon, pumpkin spice and nutmeg and an 1/8 cup of brown sugar. I'm not sure of the quantities as I "eyeball" spices. I added a dollop of sour cream too. I did taste it before I added anything extra. It was good but changed it to suit my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I doubled the recipe for my family of four and we finished it all. Even my two small children (7 and 6) loved it - it was delicious! I did leave out the salt and add some garlic but otherwise followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
This is a very good soup! I do recommend adding brown sugar, more cinnamon, more ginger and a little nutmeg though. The croutons are perfect with this soup. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Fantastic! I make this soup every time we need a little reminder of fall in our house. It's my favorite soup of all time! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Very good soup! If you have real homemade pureed pumpkin on hand, it is WAY better than using the stuff from the can. I go to the pumpkin patch and get 'em fresh, roast them, then puree them up and bag/freeze it to use. I made a few changes, based on reviews: Added about 1/4 cup dark brown sugar Only used half the salt Added 25% more cinnamon and ginger Added cayenne pepper Used half cream, half 2% milk. This was so creamy I may just do all milk next time, to cut down drastically on calories. Only used half the butter recommended YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
Great way to add pumpkin to the diet. We have introduced it at several dinner parties and it is always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ncodonnell

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 423) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States