Cream of Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Simply delicious! Even impressed my mother in law who owns a restaurant :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This was wonderful! The croutons were an fantastic addition, so please don't skip them! Easy to do while you're simmering the soup. I always use low-sodium broth, so maybe that's why mine didn't seem salty? The flavor was perfectly good as written in the recipe (I might use just a touch less ginger next time but that's a personal preference). I did add just a little brown sugar (less than 1/8c) for just a little sweetness. Looking forward to the next batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Made this for Christmas. Skipped the croutons. I used canned low fat/low salt Chicken Broth so mine was not too salty as others had experienced. I added a small dollop of creme fraiche sprinkled with pinch of sesame seeds and marjoram - it was a wonderful add for the holiday meal. We served a small cup to all our guests with the main meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Tasty and well balanced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I made this as an appetizer for Thanksgiving - WOW! Rave reviews and it was simple. Make sure to make the little toast topping it - they rock :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
The texture was great, but could use a little more seasoning?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
WE LOVE THIS SOUP. This is the first pumpkin soup recipe I've tried and it is truly a winner! Since Thanksgiving is coming soon, I tried another recipe just to make sure I have the best for our Holiday dinner. This is by FAR the best. I normally use light cream instead of heavy cream and it turns out great. The cinnamon croutons really finish it off nicely. If you are thinking about skipping them, think again! Not that much time and so worth the effort! Thank you very much for the recipe. It will be a perfect start to a wonderful Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Should have read the reviews, way to salty. Probably due to the already salted broth. I added apples and a sweet potatoe. It was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Fantastic soup! Came out rich and creamy! I never tried a pumpkin soup before I made this so I can't tell you how it compares to others. All I can say this was very tasty and that I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I would use light cream instead of heavy cream. The cream overpowered the pumpkin and it tasted more like cream of onion soup. So I added more pumpkin to compensate the threw in a sprig of fresh thyme for a little more flavor. I gave it five stars based on my modifications but if I were to rate it on the original recipe, would have rated it at four stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 423) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States