Cream of Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Amazing. Even my 2 and 4 year old ate it and asked for more... That's a major win! I didn't have bread to make the croutons and they still loved it!! Didn't change a thing other than adding some brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChillyBaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
This soup definitely needed some brown sugar and more seasonings. I guess canned pumpkin can not substitute for roasted butternut squash, that was my first mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Easy, yummy and cheap to make! The whole family loved it... It will stay in our menu ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
We loved it. Will add some ground gloves next. I used yogurt instead of cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I made this soup for a Christmas gift exchange party and everyone loved it. I especially like that it does not use garlic because one of my friends can't eat it. I added a little cornstarch mixture at the end to thicken it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Made this the day after Thanksgiving and added all our leftover vegetables; mushrooms, broccoli, and Brussels sprouts (chopped onto smaller chunks). Used a generous spoonful of pumpkin pie spice instead of the cinnamon and ginger. Turkey broth instead of chicken. Didn't blend it, just left it chunky. Even my picky-eater father-in-law finished every bite. Great taste and good way to use up leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I added a cup of cooked split peas to the blender and used 2% milk instead of cream. As others suggested, I used pumpkin pie spice and added a little brown sugar. Word to the wise: it's probably not a good idea to put hot broth in your blender or food processor. Let it cool first or melt a few ice cubes in it. Also, I felt the croutons were too big when cut into 8 pieces, but maybe that's just my personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Used 1/2 cup yellow onion, half and half instead of cream, added 1/4 cup brown sugar and doubled the spices. Also added a little cayenne pepper for a little spice like other reviewers suggested. Even with these changes, the soup was only pretty good. Next time I will add more pumpkin (there wasn't enough pumpkin flavor for me) and use less broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Easier than butternut squash soup. After simmering 1/2 to 3/4 cup of onion and broth, I added 1/2 the second can of broth to cool it a bit then used the hand blender in the pot. Added the rest of the broth, and as others suggested, added 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp ginger, 1/4 tsp cayenne and cut salt down to just a pinch since I used regular chicken broth. Could still use more spices. Changed cream to 1/2 cup milk and 1/2 cup half and half. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty Rupp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I reduced the onion by half, did not add salt either. I added 2 tablespoons brown sugar, increased the ginger and cinnamon, and added 1/4 tsp pumpkin spice. My daughter ate 3 bowls. She hates soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat Champenois Lmt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 435) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States