Cream of Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I made my own pumpkin puree from leftover Halloween pumpkins. Since I made fresh pumpkin puree, I added about 2 T of cornstarch with 1/4 cup of water to thicken the soup. All I can say is WOW! The croutons made the soup taste like a pumpkin pie and the heavy whipping cream made a rich soup base. Who would have guessed pumpkin soup could taste so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
this is the very first time i have heard of pumpkin soup! I was interested. i followed in others suggestions of adding more brown sugar along with sprinkling cayenne pepper and basil to taste. The soup turned out great, maybe a little too sweet, but i will make it again! I also topped my bowl off with a scoop of sour cream, that set it off well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Pretty good, but not a lot of flavor if you dont add in a few of the suggestions. I added cayenne and brown sugar. Helped A LOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ivy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
YUM! But with a few changes. I added about 2 tbsp brown sugar to the recipe and added a little extra cinnamon and some all spice. I blended it lightly so it was still a little "chunky". The cinnamon croutons were a great touch! Perfect fall dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Delicious after I made the changes suggested by others on here. Added a little more cream for a richer soup. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Delicious! I made it from all of the comments listed below including 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp ground ginger, 1/4 cup of brown sugar, and 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber.Anastasi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This was yummy with suggested changes. I added lots of brown sugar. At least a handful. I used half the onion. And 1% milk with corn starch. Came out yummy, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Best Pumpkin Soup I've ever made...and I've made a lot. I also doubled the spices and added nutmeg and then paprika to give it a little kick. I've always added root vegetables to my pumpkin soups, normally parsnip and carrot but I only had carrot so I added it to the first stage and boiled until tender. I also added about a cup of corn. I puree until theres still some particles because I like the texture. The corn and carrot ingredients made it naturally sweet and so i lastly drizzled about 1/8 cup of maple syrup in. I did not add any salt as the broth had enough in it. This was delicious and I may have to make a second batch because for my guests because it's all I want to eat tonight hehe. I suggest tasting and tasting and tasting all the way through adding any extra ingredients. This would be nice to garnish with a little heavy cream swirled in or some maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I made this recipe as is and my husband and I found it very bland and that is the reason for the 3 star rating. Instead of tossing it I just did a bit of tweaking and now it is one of my fav soups of all time! I added twice the amount of ginger and cinnamon called for making it 1/2 tsp of each. Added 3 TBS of brown sugar and just a couple of dashes of cayenne pepper. Sensational! With the changes I'd give it 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hughson, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Yumm! After reading some reviews I made some changes; First I dont eat meat so I used veggie broth, I Added extra brown sugar, some pumpkin pie seasoning and cayenne pepper. I also used nonfat half and half to cut down on the calories.- when I was done cooking I thought it looked a bit thin so I boiled up a potato then strained it and added to the soup. I think the potato really made it amazing- I think bacon would mae a good addition for you meat eaters, especially with the potato addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashliediane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 423) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States