Cream of Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Overall this is a nice recipe, however, I ended up adding some brown sugar to help round out the flavor. It was ok before the brown sugar, and significantly better with it. This was simple to make and I am looking forward to taking the leftovers as a lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
It's not fantastic. Everyone in my family tried it, but I'm sure we won't make it again. I even tried some of the suggestions in the reviews. Maybe we just don't like pumpkin enough. It was fun to try a new recipe, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
The recipe in its oiriginal form is not the best, but after reading others' reviews, I decided to add lots of extra brown sugar. After the addition of the sugar, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I liked the idea, it sounded different and looked good in the picture, but it wasn't my family's favorite soup. I followed the recipe, it just seemed a little bland or like it was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kyle, Texas, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
If I had it to do over again, I wouldn't follow the advice of several others reviewers by adding a little brown sugar. It made it way too sweet. Other than that, it was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I am surprised by all the five star reviews. This recipe is not that good as written. It is pretty bland. I tripled the sugar and salt, doubled the cinnamon, and added cayenne and allspice to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Great soup. I did add 1/8 cup brown sugar and some pumpkin spice after reading reviews. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Five stars for what an amazing soup this can be, maybe four stars as written. I agree with other reviewers that this recipe needs a good 1/4 c. or so of brown sugar, and as usual I doubled the spices. I also added a bit of cayenne, which makes the soup both sweet and spicy, a lovely combination. My mother in law wasn't too enthused about the idea of this soup, but when she tasted it, she asked for three copies of the recipe - for her and her sisters! The homemade croutons couldn't be simpler and are a special touch. A few notes: I used veg broth because I'm vegetarian, and I think it imparted a sort of sourness that was easily remedied with the brown sugar. I also used half-and-half rather than whipping cream to "lighten up" the dish (if you call half-and-half light!!) and it was still plenty rich and creamy. This soup was a very nice addition to our Thanksgiving dinner, and I've already been enlisted to make it at next year's feast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I second what others wrote about adding a bit of cayenne...not too much, just a sprinkle or two. It beautifully enhances the other flavors. I didn't make the croutons because I knew I liked the soup purely savory...so I also didn't add brown sugar like others suggested. Used fresh pumpkin instead of canned because that's what I had available...so easy, just cut pumpkin into large pieces (halves or quarters, depending on the size) and microwave for 15-20 minutes, or until fairly soft. Then throw it in the blender with the onion and chicken stock. Really, really yummy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Good way to use up leftover pumpkin puree during the holiday season. Sadly, the flavor wasn't great - I played around with a few spices and brown sugar to improve it, but never really loved the result. Maybe I'm just not a savory pumpkin person. My boyfriend liked it, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 423) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States