Cream of Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I make pumpkin soup a lot this time of year and have tried many recipes. This is a very good recipe but I made some alterations. I peeled and added an apple instead of the brown sugar--that gave it the sweetness but also more autumn flavor and went well with the spices. I added double or triple the ginger (I just threw some in without measuring) but I would have preferred to use some fresh ginger. I used fresh pumpkin (only because I had from Halloween) and I used a can of evaporated milk instead of cream to reduce calories but still tastes great. It turned out great, even our little kids like it. Oh and I didn't even add salt, usually the chicken broth has plenty for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I don't think it had enough pumpkin and or too much cream. Made recipe as written. Tasted then I went to the reviews and mixed and match until I got the recipe to suit my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam from L.I.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sound Beach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I wish I had read the other reviews BEFORE I made this soup. Since it had a high rating, I assumed it was delicious as is. I doubled the recipe and used vegetable broth instead of chicken in order to make it vegetarian. It was not as thick as I imagined a cream of pumpkin soup to be and not as flavorful either. Definitely recommend adding additional spices, etc. in order to make this soup better! I did love the addition of the cinnamon toast croutons for this though and will use that to add to a different pumpkin soup recipe in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I used fresh pumpkin and the soup turned out good, but WAY TOO SALTY. i would leave out the salt all together. (i boiled the pumpkin chunks, drained and reserved the liquid, pureed the pumpkin and added chicken bouillon to the reserved liquid.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenjendiva

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This soup was incredible. I followed the other recommendations and added extra brown sugar. Next time I'll carmelize the onions to see if that adds some sweetness. I used low-salt chicken broth and 2% milk plus a bit of half and half. I think it was perfect that way and wouldn't bother with the heavy cream. This is a keeper but I want to figure out a way to sweeten it up without so much sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I made this soup and took it to a party--it was a hit! There wasn't a drop left and people are still calling to ask for the recipe. I read the reviews and decided to add 1/2 cup brown sugar when I added the pumpkin. I also added 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg and 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper (or more, you'll have to use your taste buds on this one...). This soup is definitely going in my cookbook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairless Hills, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Very tastey. I added extra ginger and it made it spicey. I also used whole milk instead of cream to cut the fat down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I thought it was pretty good. Not the best soup i have ever made as i think it is a little rich and cannot imagine eating it more than one or two times, but did hit the spot. I just used the recipe as a guide. I melted about 1 tablespoon butter and about 1/4 cup brown sugar. Added 2 cans veg. broth. 2 cans water. 1 huge can pumpkin puree. Added cinnemon. Let cook for about 10 min. Then, added 2 cups cream. Pretty yummy. My kids ate it and are pretty picky usually, so that was a plus. super easy and tasted like fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Really good! I added a chicken bouillon cube to the onion simmer as well to increase flavor a bit. I would have liked it to be a tad bit thicker, but it still tastes wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Warrenville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 422) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States