Cream of Pumpkin Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Yes, I made adjustments; but had I not read this great recipe, I could not have modified it! I omitted the croutons. Cooked the chopped onion in butter, added the chicken broth, pureed with an immersion blender, added 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice, 1 tsp creole seasoning and 1/4 tsp cayenne. Added two 15 oz cans of pumpkin puree, blended with immersion blender and heated through; added 1 cup heavy whipping cream, blended with immersion blender. Top with sliced green onions and crumbled bacon. (Hint: Store cooked bacon in a baggie in freezer - handy to pull out a couple of strips at a time, crumble, heat in microwave and sprinkle on top of yummy pumpkin soup with sliced green onions.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Awesome Recipe. Will make again. I used one can of pumpkin and then one of sweet potato puree b/c that's what I had. It was still great. Found pumpkin ravioli to put on top vs croutons. Brought it to a Thanksgiving Pot Luck at work and people loved it- some who tried it just to be nice even fell it love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessika393

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I used roasted pumpkin and bumped up the spices a little. Wonderful. The croutons are the bombD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I loved this soup! As suggested by others, I did add more sugar than was called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I was not impressed with the recipe as written.Too salty and the onions completely overpowered the soup. However, I did enjoy the croutons in this recipe, it really added to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiger Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I use coconut milk instead of heavy cream and I add a couple of table spoons of brown sugar to the soup. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Very good! Tastes gourmet! We had trouble with the grandchildren liking it, but perfect for a adult's taste buds. I would make this to serve for a lady's lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
My picky husband loved this soup. I made it with fresh pumpkin. Everything else was the same. It turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
It's a wonderful recipe, my whole family loved it and requested another batch for the next night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Disenda McKinney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
I did what others suggested and it was so good! Half the salt, twice the ginger, twice the cinnamon, 1/4 cup brown sugar, and added a few shakes of pumpkin pie spice, nutmeg and cayenne pepper. You can't eat this if you are in a hurry- you need time to sit down and enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Spaulding

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 436) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Soup

This creamy pumpkin soup is a fall favorite.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States