Cream of No Cream Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Not bad. Nice way to use leftover ham. I added some salt, pepper and a bay leaf and it flavored it up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I enjoyed this soup very much. I like how you puree the veggies to thicken the soup. Brilliant idea wthout adding calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I loved this soup, but because I did not have any white beans at home, and of course, did not want to go out to the store, I left the soup as a broth. It was delicious without any thickening. I felt no need to add any other seasonings. I will definately make this again, and I may chose to leave out the beans again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Fantastic! I didn't add a thing, and it was delicious. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Magnolia Blossom
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Good base to use leftovers with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magnolia Blossom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lostant, Illinois, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Amazing soup! Love having a creamy dairy-free soup. Lots of options of adding whatever veggies you like, but loved it the way it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Wonderful!! I added a leak but accidentally added an entire onion too instead of the 1/4 onion. Still so good. Be very careful how long the bone simmers in the soup. I had a lot of meat/fat on my bone so it didn't take but just a few minutes for the ham bone to work it's magic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
First of all, I wanted to note that this makes more like 12+ servings or more, not 6 as listed. I used small sweet potatoes and large celery stalks/onion. I had to pan fry the veggies in 2 batches because it was just too thick in the pot to have cooked properly in one batch. I used the biggest pot I have in the house and still could only get 6 cups of liquid in the pot. Anyway, I changed this recipe a lot to suit what I had on hand, so take my rating with a grain of salt. I had just made Greek Burgers (from this site), and I cooked the veggies in the grease from that. The burgers have shallot and fennel and oregano in them, and you could taste it in the veggies once they were cooked. I used sweet potatoes instead of regular, omitted beans and corn, used veggie bouillon cubes instead of chicken broth, added 3 smallish fennel stalks and 2 smallish bay leaves to the broth. The ham was leftovers and had a sweet orange glaze on it. I was worried the sweet would clash with the savory flavors, but it all blended nicely and tasted great. I accidentally put the 1 C ham in with the hame bone, so I didn't bend it up. This recipe is a great base to modify as needed for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States