Cream of Mushroom Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2001
I would give this recipe an all over 5 star rating except kids are usually not fond of mushrooms. I liked it best with cutting the mushrooms into chuncks, or sliced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Miami Lakes, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2001
Simply delicious . . . I used fat free half and half to replace heavy cream, and it was great. Also sprinkled a little nutmeg on top when I served it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2001
This was so simple, and turned out pretty good, but i did expect something alittle more creamier. But it was YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
I was very impressed by the simplicity of this recipe, yet it was very flavorful! Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
My picky boyfriend and son both loved it. And it was so easy! Only change I made was, I added a small chopped onion. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
I am the only one who likes mushrooms in my family so I halved the recipe automatically. I followed the recipe (also adding a little green onion for flavor) up to the chicken broth and then added only one can (14 oz.) of chicken broth. I added the 1 cube beef bouillon as you would for the whole recipe. I didn't have any sherry so omitted it and just stirred in the (1/2 c.) cream, cooking just until heated through. Man, was it delicious! It tasted just like what you would get in a fine restaurant! Of course, making it this way cuts down on the number of servings so I have to say this would probably serve 2 to 3 very nicely. To tell you the truth, "I ate the whole thing" all by myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
This is fantasitc!!!! Will add a little more flour next time as I prefer a thicker soup!! Added leftover prime rib for church soup potluck and there was none left to take home!! This soup is sooooo easy! Everyone will think you took all day to amke it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logansport, Indiana, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
This soup is amazing!!! I made a few changes... I sauteed some oinions, garlic, and celery in butter forst before adding mushrooms. I used shitake, portobellas and baby bellas. I pureed about 1/3 of the mixture at that point. This really helped distribute the flavor throughout the soup. I also substitued fat free half and half for the heavy cream. It was so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
Lovely soup and so quick and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Great flavor. Prefer a slightly thicker soup so will play with the recipe a bit next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States