Cream of Mushroom Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
This is a fantastic recipe, Colleen - thanks so much for posting it. The soup had a rich flavour thanks to the sherry and cream while the mushrooms had a buttery texture. Perfect as a meal when served with crusty bread. I made this for the first time tonight and just added 2 cloves of crushed garlic to the melted butter before sauteeing the mushrooms. I used low fat thickened cream and this created the perfect degree of richness for me. The soup only need a little cracked black pepper on serving. I'm definitely going to be making this soup throughout the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Possum 08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
This is fantasitc!!!! Will add a little more flour next time as I prefer a thicker soup!! Added leftover prime rib for church soup potluck and there was none left to take home!! This soup is sooooo easy! Everyone will think you took all day to amke it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logansport, Indiana, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
This was O.K. but, it tasted more like cream of chicken stock soup than cream of mushroom. It was easy, however; there is a reason you add aromatics. I will stick to my old receipe from "The Joy of Cooking". Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2004
Terrific. Creme de la creme!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUDEGRRL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
I am the only one who likes mushrooms in my family so I halved the recipe automatically. I followed the recipe (also adding a little green onion for flavor) up to the chicken broth and then added only one can (14 oz.) of chicken broth. I added the 1 cube beef bouillon as you would for the whole recipe. I didn't have any sherry so omitted it and just stirred in the (1/2 c.) cream, cooking just until heated through. Man, was it delicious! It tasted just like what you would get in a fine restaurant! Of course, making it this way cuts down on the number of servings so I have to say this would probably serve 2 to 3 very nicely. To tell you the truth, "I ate the whole thing" all by myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2003
This was an easy recipe to make, although the time to cook it was a bit longer, given the ease of making it. It tasted great, but as others have said, there was too much sauce and it was too thick. Still, a good meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
This is a great recipe for a special luncheon. It looks like it took a lot of work, but it is a breeze to make. Best of all, my kids both loved it and my husband couldn't get enough. I also used the fat free half and half for part of the cream called for, and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
My picky boyfriend and son both loved it. And it was so easy! Only change I made was, I added a small chopped onion. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
I was very impressed by the simplicity of this recipe, yet it was very flavorful! Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2001
This was so simple, and turned out pretty good, but i did expect something alittle more creamier. But it was YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States