Cream of Mushroom Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
It was alright... It was very liquidy, so i added more cream and roux to thicken it up. I would probably say add more mushroom to 'take up more space'. It was very liquidy for the amount of mushrooms. Taste wise it was bland, but maybe that was because I added more creme. I ended up seasoning it onion and garlic powder, and adding a bouillon cube. I also sauteed onions and added them in which were delicious. The soup ended up ok, but my boyfriend only ate a couple spoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nskyline115

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I used this recipe just as written. It's excellent, so good I'm making it for the 3rd time. Delicious with homemade croutons or french bread. Thanks for an easy way to please our tummies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
This recipe was yummy and super easy to make. It was easily adaptable according to what I had in the fridge and threw in some fresh spinach just to avoid throwing it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
This is a great recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
This soup is awesome. I make it all the time. My only problem is that there is never enough. It's easy to make, doesn't take a lot of time, and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Awesome recipe! A few things I changed: I like a thicker soup, so I doubled the flour. Also, I have a hard time making anything savory without onion, garlic, and an herb of some sort. So, I added 1 finely chopped shallot, 2 minced garlic cloves, and about 1 1/2 tsp rosemary or thyme (I've made it both ways and love each herb in this). This is one that my picky husband requests OFTEN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
This turned out pretty bland and not very creamy in consistency. I ended up added some xanthan gum to thicken it up at the end, using an immersion blender for a moment to break up some of the mushrooms to release more flavor, and adding a bunch of salt and pepper before serving. If I try this recipe again I will probably modify it even more by adding an onion with the mushrooms, adding salt earlier in the process, and letting it simmer for much longer to let the flavors meld.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I doubled this recipe for a small church supper. It was easy and, more importantly, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Plainville, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I had been looking for a recipe like this for awhile. We have a local resterant that makes it simaler every now & then & would have the waiteresses call me when they made it. Love this stuff. the only changes I did make and only for my own taste was Added a whole chopped red onion & several chopped garlic cloves & alot more mushrooms as I more than doubled the recipe thank you it was amazing filling & everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
I made this soup twice this weekend it is so delicious and easy. The only changes I made were to use half and half rather than cream and add some thyme and black pepper. On the second go-round I used only half the amount of cream (half&half) called for (trying to reduce my fat intake) and it was still delicious. I can't wait to try this with some of the more exotic kinds of mushrooms. (I used pre-sliced white button.) Thanks, Sadie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States