Cream of Mushroom Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
This recipe is simple and easy, I used less margarine (third less) and more flour to thicken it up. you can use lots of different kinds of mushrooms for depth of flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
did not have chicken broth, cream, or fresh thyme. for the broth I used water and chicken bouillon cubes, I threw in one extra. For the cream I used 1% milk as measured, then a scope of sour cream. Also dried thyme seem to do the trick! I had to add a little more flour but it turned out wonderful! I will use this recipe again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Made it exactly as written--delicious! Might throw in some clams next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
It's a keeper! Simple and delicious - just as described.??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jnnpppnk

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I loved this soup. I made this a few weeks ago when my sister was visiting. This week I was fortunate enough to find mushrooms on a really good sale. I bought 12 lbs of mushrooms. Yes that is not a typo. I did buy 12 lbs of mushrooms. So trying to think of a way to use them before the went bad I thought to make this soup as it was such a hit last time I made it. I now have 3 gallons of mushroom soup. I still have 6 lbs of mushrooms left. I plan on making another pot of soup. Then I will freeze what is not eaten for dinner tonight. I did make some changes. 1)I omitted the onions as I didn't have any. 2)Then I sautéed some celery with the garlic. 3)I didn't have any thyme as I forgot to replace it so used basil and parsley. Yes it was dried as I do not have cheap access to fresh. I did use thyme the first time so can attest to it tasting just as good with thyme. 4)I used 2 1/2 times the recommended amount of flour as I prefer a thicker soup. 5)I omitted any and all broth. I pureed the stems in an equal amount of water and used this instead for a more mushroomy flavor. It also saves money for the thrifty among us as it doesn't cost any extra. I think other than the increased cook time, which I attribute to my multiplying the recipe by 6, I didn't change anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONYAWOOD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
Delicious. I changed very little about this recipe. First, I used half the amount of thyme because I only had dried, and used half and half instead of light cream. I used the amount of flour in the recipe, but it didn't give me the thickness I was looking for, next time I'll add more. Also, a heavy hand on garlic powder towards the end of the cook complimented the soup beautifully. I also used an immersion blender to combine all the ingredients and make for smaller mushroom bits. Very nice, and a definite repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Delicious! Try not to miss out on the fresh thyme, it adds nice flavor. DON'T use dry thyme unless it's crushed. Cook the stems separately and puree, it really adds nice texture to the soup and additional mushroom flavor. I used homemade chix stock, adding to the richness. Celery is good, too. Adds flavor to ALL soups! If you like Cream of Mushroom, you will definitely LOVE this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
I have made this twice already and am preparing to make again today since I have tons of shiitake & cremini on hand. I have used mushroom broth, which adds to the flavor instead of the veggie broth. Also FF 1/2 & 1/2 assists to lighten things up. Shallots also have a nice subtle undertone. EXTRA YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bedminster, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
this recipe is absoloutely amazing... But I used brown mushrooms and of course kept the stalks!!! Bravo, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Oh my heck...this was terrible soup. I followed the instructions and did up the flour by 1 T. per some of the other reviews. The soup was thinner than milk! I even added two doses of corn starch to thicken it. All I could taste was the green onions and the chicken stock. The flavor of the mushrooms was completely lost. I made myself eat one small bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States