Cream of Mushroom Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
I am lucky enough to have fresh lemon thyme in my herb garden, but I didn't have green onions or vegetable broth, so I substituted dehydrated white onions and chicken broth. For the mushrooms I used criminis and maitakes (hen-of-the-woods). I tasted the soup while making it and was worried that it tasted too strongly of chicken and the mushroom flavor would be drowned out, but it turned out just fine! I'm glad the recipe was so forgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
This was very good and easy to make. I decided to use a blend of freshly picked Morels and Oyster mushrooms, as well as Portabella and Shiitake mushrooms, just for variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ZIP1992
Reviewed: May 22, 2006
This soup is amazing. Best I have ever made. It took me a bit longer than a half hour to make though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
This is the BEST cream of mushroom soup I've ever had. I did thicken it with a bit more flour than the recipe called for as I like a thicker cream of mushroom soup, but other than that, I wouldn't change a thing. Definitely making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
I added a few items, and it turned out very tasty. I used 3 oz. of shiitake, 6 oz. of portabella, and approx. 8 oz. of white mushrooms. I did not have fresh thyme, so I used about 1/2 tsp. dry. I also used a 1/2 of a med. onion instead of the green, and sauted with the garlic. I had to add corn starch after the flour addition, as it was a little runny. I also had a 1/2 of a lemon in the fridge, and gave the soup a few good squirts after adding the 1/2 & 1/2. It was really good...especially with garlic toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
I used 8 oz portabella and 8 oz button mushrooms, used cornstarch and chicken broth instead of vegetable broth. I thought it was great! Even my boyfriend who doesn't like mushrooms thought it tasted good and had a bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Overbrook, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
Hello! I enjoyed cooking the cream mushroom soup--very easy and tasty! I am looking forward to new ideas! until soon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
Didn't change the recipe except to add more mushroooms.. It's SO easy, SO quick and it is REALLY good. I am making it again tonight. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2005
I like this because you don't puree the mushrooms, leaving nice pieces in the soup. I used chicken broth rather than vegetable and added an extra tablespoon of flour for a thicker soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
This was very flavorful, but was a little thin. I ended up adding some corn starch and water to it to thicken it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States