Cream of Mushroom Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
The flavor was really good - it got better and better when it cooled down. I agree with previous reviewers that it does need more thickening agent, flour. I also felt that shallots were a more appropriate onion and used them. They added a really nice flavor. I splashed a bit of white wine in it as well which gave it a little more complexity. Very good soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeatherMER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I ate the whole thing myself in just a few days. LOVE it! I used chicken stock instead of veggie, a milk and sour cream mixture instead of cream, and black pepper instead of white. My mushroom combo was shitake, crimini, baby bella, and button.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ida, Michigan, USA
Living In: New Boston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
This is the best cream of mushroom soup recipe I have tried on this website. My husband LOVED it and he hates mushrooms. Every time I make this for dinner guests they rave about it. This dish is wonderful in that is tastes fancy, but it really isn't...it's very cheap and easy to make. Only thing I changed was I used shallots rather than onion because I think shallots add a richness that is just perfect for soups. I like that this recipe does not call for you to puree the soup. I like my cream of mushroom soup with big chunks of mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyInBliss

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
I made this soup for 8 people and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
I used beef broth and water. I also added a dash of sherry. Instead of cream I used 1/2 C fat free sour cream and 1/2 cup of fat free 1/2 & 1/2.. Very good... I also added more flour and used wild morels and wild leeks as they are plentiful at this time of the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
This is a great recipe. I use a combination of wild mushrooms, any will do. Chop finely. For our tastes, I use more flour, for a thicker soup. I, too, use chicken broth, rather tha vegetable. I just don't care for vegetable broth. I also don't use garlic as I get sick on garlic. Re-hydrated dried mushrooms are fine to use in this. Also,instead of onions, try shallots or leeks. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
We thought this was pretty good but prefer chicken broth to the vegetable and could use a little more flour for our desired consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
This was the best soup I ever made. I used chicken broth instead and a little more flour. We Loved It!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
I am lucky enough to have fresh lemon thyme in my herb garden, but I didn't have green onions or vegetable broth, so I substituted dehydrated white onions and chicken broth. For the mushrooms I used criminis and maitakes (hen-of-the-woods). I tasted the soup while making it and was worried that it tasted too strongly of chicken and the mushroom flavor would be drowned out, but it turned out just fine! I'm glad the recipe was so forgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
This was very good and easy to make. I decided to use a blend of freshly picked Morels and Oyster mushrooms, as well as Portabella and Shiitake mushrooms, just for variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States