Cream of Mushroom Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
This recipe worked very well. I did add a stalk of celery because soup is not soup unless there is celery in it. Added a good flavor. I did add a little more roux to thicken a bit more. It needed lots of pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bruzebra
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
This turned out great. I looked at Chef John's version but opted for this one because I like big slices of mushrooms and was a little less fussy. Upped the recipe to 6 servings so I could freeze some. I used vegetable broth but was short 2 cups so I used white wine. Used light cream, and like others a couple of tablespoons of corn starch mixed with water to thicken a little more. So much better than store bought! Will make again. Goes great with grilled cheese sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bruzebra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ladner, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Quite good mushroom soup. Everyone raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellonwheels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowdon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I do not like to cook with cream, so I substitute lowfat milk and add extra flour or cornstarch to thicken it a little. It is thinner than traditional COM soup but it tastes delicious, so that's all that counts for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
This recipe is simple and easy, I used less margarine (third less) and more flour to thicken it up. you can use lots of different kinds of mushrooms for depth of flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
did not have chicken broth, cream, or fresh thyme. for the broth I used water and chicken bouillon cubes, I threw in one extra. For the cream I used 1% milk as measured, then a scope of sour cream. Also dried thyme seem to do the trick! I had to add a little more flour but it turned out wonderful! I will use this recipe again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Made it exactly as written--delicious! Might throw in some clams next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
It's a keeper! Simple and delicious - just as described.??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jnnpppnk

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I loved this soup. I made this a few weeks ago when my sister was visiting. This week I was fortunate enough to find mushrooms on a really good sale. I bought 12 lbs of mushrooms. Yes that is not a typo. I did buy 12 lbs of mushrooms. So trying to think of a way to use them before the went bad I thought to make this soup as it was such a hit last time I made it. I now have 3 gallons of mushroom soup. I still have 6 lbs of mushrooms left. I plan on making another pot of soup. Then I will freeze what is not eaten for dinner tonight. I did make some changes. 1)I omitted the onions as I didn't have any. 2)Then I sautéed some celery with the garlic. 3)I didn't have any thyme as I forgot to replace it so used basil and parsley. Yes it was dried as I do not have cheap access to fresh. I did use thyme the first time so can attest to it tasting just as good with thyme. 4)I used 2 1/2 times the recommended amount of flour as I prefer a thicker soup. 5)I omitted any and all broth. I pureed the stems in an equal amount of water and used this instead for a more mushroomy flavor. It also saves money for the thrifty among us as it doesn't cost any extra. I think other than the increased cook time, which I attribute to my multiplying the recipe by 6, I didn't change anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONYAWOOD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States