Cream of Mushroom Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
I was making Tuna Noodle Casserole, which calls for cream of mushroom soup. I only had s can of cream of broccoli and thought I'd go with that, but decided to look up a recipe on this forum, and found this one. It was excellent and my wife and myself had it as starter while the casserole cooked. Also, it went well into the Tuna Noodle Casserole. I'll use it from now on being it's healthier and has less sodium than the commercial brands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JimR-OCDS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Absolutely delicious, just what I was looking for. I did it few times and everybody in my family loved it. I added little more sherry, just because I like stronger smell and sautéed onions with mushrooms as was recommended in others reviews. Great and so easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
This is my go to recipe. I love the simplicity and ease of preparation. The only difference I made was to add about 1/4 tsp. of freshly ground nutmeg, just because I like the flavour of it with creamy dishes. Everything else I left the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Great quick and simple tasty recipe. Use sliced portabella mushrooms and unsalted butter. Substitute heavy whipping cream for half-and-half. Skip the blender/food-processor. Beef broth can be substituted for chicken broth (if desired).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I love this recipe,I've made it tons of times and my whole family loves it,I make it the way the recipe says,except I don't puree the veggies, I chop them,and I added a 1/2 cup chopped celery,I use Italian seasoning,I've used milk and it works just as good as the hath and half,and I didn't have any sherry,but it was awesome with out it,it's better than the canned soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Payette, Idaho, USA
Living In: Caldwell, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I make this about once a month for the cafe I manage and it is a hit! It is creamy and full of flavor. I made it with Marsala this time because we were out of cooking Sherry and it was still yummy! The Red Bird Cafe, in Brockport, New York 14420 highly recommends this savory soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sxoidmal
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
I plowed ahead with this recipe even though I lacked a couple ingredients. Instead of an onion, I used three cloves of garlic; for want of sherry, I splashed in some Irish whiskey and my wife's homemade crabapple wine. It still turned out splendidly, great consistency and everything. It's all I can do to keep from wolfing it down tonight, rather than rationing it for a week of lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
This is fantastic! Rich and creamy and full of flavor. I did sauté the mushrooms in butter with a bit of the broth. I then lightly pureed the mushrooms and remaining liquids before adding it to the butter and flour roux to thicken. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I love this recipe! I don't like onions so I use garlic instead, otherwise it's perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Excellent flavor, thick as creamed mushrooms. 5 cups of mushrooms? That's a lot for the amount of liquid. My soup was the color of dirt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 679) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States