Cream of Mushroom Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
This was very good! Made as directed with the exceptions of adding a clove of garlic, using arrowroot powder to thicken (mixed with a few tablespoons of water, then added to soup pot with purée, remaining mushroom chunks, and 10% cream), and using white wine (what was in fridge) instead of sherry. Arrowroot powder allows this to be frozen to be used in place of canned soup in other recipes. The purée was amazing... It turned into a mousse in my blender that would be divine in tarts, all in its own. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I doubled this recipe and sauteed the onions and mushrooms with thyme as suggested and wow! This was so delicious and even more so after it sat for awhile. Easy to make as stated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renée CK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Fantastic recipes. I did add a few cloves of garlic and some Jalapenos for a bit of a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmcclain22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Turned out great. I had a shallot to use up so I diced a bit in with the onion and thyme as I sauteed it in butter with mushrooms. Didn't have sherry so I substituted a little dash of Marsala. I liked chunky slices of mushrooms instead of a puree style. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I use this mushroom soup recipie whenever another recipie calls for canned mushroom soup. This taste amazing on its own and makes it easier on my to stay away from processed food. Sometimes I leave half the mushrooms sliced others i purée the whole thing depending on the recipie it's going with! Thanks for great flavor added to my recipie box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jbtande
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Very easy and super tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Why in this world do people feel obligated to screw up beautiful recipes? Just keep your grubby hands off a perfectly beautiful recipe or develop your very own. Gaaaaaaa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Will only use can in a pinch now, the can is no comparison to this. This is delicious! If you freeze this flat measured out by 1 cup size, can be consumed later for lunch or used for other dishes, such as with Gravy Baked Pork Chops by jennipoo (can be found in AllRecipes). I used homemade chicken broth (found in AllRecipes) which has a lot more flavor than canned. Also, made a half/half substitute with butter and whole milk to make it a little healthier, substitute sherry with white wine since I usually don't have sherry on hand. Have made this more than once and still no complaints
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I didn't puree it and it came out with a nice texture from the mushroom chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I LOVE this recipe. I'm big on cooking ahead, so I made the two "sections" separately, and before adding them together I froze them each in their own little takeaway containers. Then when we wanted amazing cream of mushroom soup I defrosted, combined and finished the recipe. mmmmmmmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 690) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States