Cream of Mushroom Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Loved this recipe! It's easy, but more importantly, it's fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I sautéed my Mushrooms and Onions in the Butter then added the Flour to that, rather than cooking mushrooms in broth. then I added the Broth and half and half other ingredients. I also added some heavy cream and about a half spoon of Nutmeg powder (secret ingredient).....It was Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by West Vancouver foodie
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I used the ingredients shown, but changed the methods. To concentrate flavours, I sauteed the onion and sliced mushrooms in a shallow pan with the butter until they were lightly browned (I added one clove minced garlic towards the end). I transferred the mixture to a soup pot then added the flour and cooked for a couple of minutes. Whisked in the broth, added thyme, salt and pepper, then brought to a boil. Added the half and half, then reheated slowly before adding the sherry. Before serving, I used a stick blender to roughly chop the mushrooms. I then added some chopped Italian parsley for colour and a bit of texture. If the soup is too thick, a splash of chicken stock would be useful. It is good to offer salt and a pepper grinder at the table in case anyone wants to correct the seasoning to their taste. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
This recipe makes an amazing soup but you only get two large bowls. I skipped the puree step as I like chunky soups. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Butchko

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I made this almost as is. I left out the sherry and instead of half and half I used sour cream. We love it I'm making a double batch right now. Good job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missfitt77

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I made this soup exactly as written, and the flavor is fantastic. I didn't expect to like it as much as I did. I'll be making this one again and using it to replace can soup in other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
This recipe is ACE! I've made one change and that was to make more of it and I added some portebello mushrooms in this bad boy! AWESOME RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Of course will all recipes I find on the site, I make exactly according to recipe and then decide if I think any changes are in order... None needed here. Don't think I will ever buy commercial C.O.M soup ever again. Next batch I am going to double so I can freeze some for later use
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I love this recipe! I pureed the mushrooms to a cream because I don't like chunks and used it for my chicken and stuffing casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I made eight batches to take to a bridal shower. Like other reviewers, I sautéed the onions and mushrooms in the butter first, then added the black pepper, thyme, salt and flour to make the roux. Once that was thick and browned a little, I added the chicken broth and sherry...then slowly stirred in the half and half at the very end. I also ran about half the mixture through the processor and left some mushroom slices in tact. I did add some extra sherry here and there. Just my personal preference. I used both the pre sliced Button and the Baby Bella mushrooms. Will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 624) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States