Cream of Mushroom Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
This is a fantastic soup!! I left out the mushrooms and substituted carrots and artichoke hearts for the onions, glazed them in the oven with a light sprinkling of brown sugar and a shot of whiskey, then blended them into a pre-made batch of cornbread batter. Baked at 350 for 30 minutes, then cool on a wire rack. I thought that the half-and-half was too much, so I just drank a glass of orange juice. Best mushroom soup ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Love this soup! I am vegan and I changed the recipe to use vegetable broth, non-dairy butter, and silk non-dairy creamer. It came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This was great! Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Another comfort food! Love, love, loved it. And this rating comes without the sherry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
One of my children is on a gluten free diet. I used to use store bought cream of ..... to make all kinds of things. This has such a small amount of flour in it that I just use 1/2 amount of cornstarch or gluten free flour and use it in my favorite recipes that call for cream of mushroom soup. I actually like this better than what we buy. It is really easy to make:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Great Soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Not enough broth in this soup... it comes out looking unappealing, more like a mushroom smoothie than a soup. It tastes "okay", but would not bother to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tuntun
Living In: Midland, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I will never buy canned mushroom soup again! This only took a few minutes to prepare and is so much better than canned. I would give this 10 stars if I could. The sherry is a must! I tasted before the sherry and after, after was much richer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Galesburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
I followed the recipe almost exactly. The only changes I made was I sauteed the mushrooms and onions in butter first and only pureed about two-thirds of them. I also cooked the butter and flour a bit (basic roux) My wife and I thought the flavor and texture was excellent. I used a good Amontillado sherry and next time I might add a little bit more, it really adds depth to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Out of canned soup for a recipe. I had everything for this though and it turned out really good. Dinner saved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fife, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 624) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States