Cream of Mushroom Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Wonderful! I only made minor changes to suit my taste - garlic powder instead of onions (don't like them) and gluten free flour to thicken (am sensitive to gluten). I also sautéed the mushrooms and seasonings before adding broth. To make it easier, I just gave it a few pulses with my stick blender since I like mushroom chunks. The sherry and thyme give a great flavor! Thanks for an easy recipe with simple ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I really like this soup! I made it almost exactly as is except a few very minor changes. I doubled it and it made about 8 cups of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This is an incredibly easy recipe and the soup turned out great. I followed the suggestions made by SUHANSEN in the review of the 'most helpful critical review'. I agree with not pureeing the mushrooms. If your mushroom have a lot of dark 'fins' then you soup will turn out ugly. I left mine in very large chunks and used button mushrooms with had very little fin development. I added a little garlic. I'll try again using cornstarch instead of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This soup has great flavor, I loved it! I sauteed the mushrooms and onions in the butter, then added the flour and stirred until it absorbed the butter, then added the other ingredients (I used heavy cream because I like a creamier soup, and omitted the sherry because I don't like it) then just added some garlic salt to taste. Different method than the recipe, but it worked great and the soup was ready to eat in 15 minutes from start to finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
It is a cold day here so I just made this soup. The only change I made was using a leek instead of an onion. It was perfect. Great soup!! Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Oh so good!!! I made this almost exactly according to the recipe, with a couple of minor tweaks. First, I added a couple cloves of chopped garlic with the veggies. I also sauted them for a few minutes before adding the chicken broth to let them cook completely. Lastly, I used fat free half and half. For this first time, I used regular white button, baby bella, and shitake mushrooms, but I imagine it would be delicious with any types. Karena, thank you so much for the amazing recipe! It at least ties, if not beats, the to die for soup we had on our honeymoon cruise last year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dahlonega, Georgia, USA
Living In: Notasulga, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Very good I used Shitake mushrooms and white added some garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Ridiculously delicious! I love mushroom so I bypassed the "blender/purée" step. Since I'm not a big sherry fan, I reduced to 1/4 of a teaspoon. I'm hooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fdparker2001
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
This was absolutely amazing with only a few minor changes. We sauteed the onions and mushrooms with a touch of butter before we added the broth and fresh thyme. We did not blend completely as it tastes better chunky. We used half heavy cream and half & half. At the end we thought something was missing, so we added some garlic powder to taste. I bet it would have been equally tasty if you add fresh garlic when you saute mushroom and onions. Also we didn't have Sherry so we used Madeira. I think if the recipe called for garlic originally this would have been a five star! a couple more things this made about 3 1/2 cups of soup so double it up and use some for a green bean casserole! We used baby bella mushrooms once sliced we used about 12oz which was a about a 1 1/2 pkgs (8oz whole baby bella). Hope that helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Delicious! My boyfriend said it was the best mushroom soup he ever had! I did reserve half of the mushroom mixture and added directly to the soup because we like the whole pieces. I also sautéed the mushrooms and onions first. I can't wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 607) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States