Cream of Mushroom Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I make this to save my husband from eating soup from a can, and he likes this much better! The recipe is great as written, but I do often make changes based on cost and what I have available. I sometimes use chicken bouillon with water instead of chicken stock, I replace the onion with onion powder, and I use fat free half-and-half or even just milk for the dairy. I like to add some garlic, and I don't usually puree the mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
This was a great recipe.Took the advice of some other reviews & saute'd portabello/button mushrooms & onion/3 garlic cloves, in 1tbsp butter & olive oil first. then added the broth and followed rest of recipe as it's written. Definately will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marla Nardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Struthers, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
My husband made this for me and it was fabulous. He left out step 2 and he added minced jalapeno pepper to it for a little heat. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Excellent, however I did make one slight change. I sauteed the mushrooms and onions beforehand, otherwise followed the recipe to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene Rohn

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
This recipe is delicious. I don't know why I've never made this before now; it was as good as any I've ever had! I used my own chicken bone broth, baby bella mushrooms and 2/3 whole wheat, 1/3 white flour. Since I didn't have sherry, I substituted red wine. Easy, since it was already in my hand! :) I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Mmmmmmm! This is the first time I've ever made cream of mushroom soup by scratch. I subbed 2% milk for the half and half and added 2 tbs of coffee creamer to make it more creamy. I also subbed a tsp of rice vinegar for the sherry. The only thing is I over processed the mushroom mixture but it still tasted perfect! The flavors blend very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Painesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
This was absolutely fantastic!! While I added a little more mushrooms, which cause me to have to add some more broth and half/half, I followed this recipe as written. It is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I don't usually change recipe's the first time I try them, but necessity forced me to. Didn't have sherry, used a bit of white wine and used 2% milk. This soup was awesome:) A keeper for sure. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
I made this for my husband, he loved it. I just had to add a bit more flavor. The addition of Better then Bouillon Vegetable worked great to liven it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
This was very good- I had some mushrooms to use up (baby Bella's) and this was perfect. I added a bit more salt and pepper but otherwise, pretty much stuck with the recipe. I will make this again, maybe using a variety of 'shrooms and a hearty red wine instead of the sherry to give it a little more depth. I have an immersion blender (don't use it often but when I do, I fall in love with it all over again!) and kept a few chopped mushrooms aside, blended the hot soup, and then added the reserved chopped mushrooms back to the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 671) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States