Cream of Mushroom Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Some people need to get a grip....this is an excellent recipe as is.....If you want to make wholesale changes and completely re do it....make and submit your own recipe....some hints and brief adds/deletions fine...but come on. this person went to a lot of trouble for this recipe. and it is fabulous as is. completely change it? make your own recipe....not beleager us with wholesale changes..... Thanks, this recipe is great as is.....we all make our own LITTLE/subtle changes for taste preferences....good job..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COUNTRYRAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
Excellent! As good as any mushroom soup I've had in a restaurant. I did change it a little and made it a easier. I sauteed the onions in a little butter and oil until the onions were soft and clear. Then I added sliced baby portabella mushrooms with a little salt and cooked on low about 5 minutes. I think this step brings out the sweetness of the onions and flavor of the mushrooms. Then I added the chicken broth. When I don't have time to make the broth I use a good quality soup base that has chicken listed as the first ingredient on the label. This is as good as any broth you would make, not like bullion cubes. I skipped step two because I like whole mushrooms. I like it better this way and it also saves time and mess. To thicken the soup I just used my tupperware mixer and mixed the flour with a little water. I added this to the soup mixture then added the half and half and the sherry. I used the fat free half and half and no one had a clue. Everyone loved it! Next time I'll make a bigger batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
502 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONNA1000

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockport, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
I took others' advice and substituted heavy cream for half and half. Also, only pureed 1/2 of the mixture so that I would have large chunks of mushrooms in soup. Very yummy taste and easy to make! (5 cups was approx. (2) 8 oz. mushroom containers)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
348 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
Wowza! I couldn’t wait to review this. When it comes to the soup and sandwich deal, mine always comes out of a can and cream of mushroom is a casserole ingredient. But break out of your rut and serve this one to company! Not hard or time consuming to make and simply fabulous restaurant quality fare. The Soup Nazi would be proud of this one. I had all the ingredients including the sherry (a miracle) and made this exactly as the recipe stated except pureed only half the mushroom broth mixture as other reviewers suggested. One 8oz. pkg. of mushrooms yields about the 5 cups needed. Unexpectedly, my butter and flour got thick like mashed potatoes. But after you stir it all in with the liquids its fine. The thyme is the secret ingredient. It’s a unique flavor way beyond any canned and compliments the mushrooms perfectly. 10 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
FABULOUS!! I had a soup just like this in Kennet Square, PA and have been desperate to find a similar recipe. This ended up being even better than the restaurant soup, but exactly what I had been hoping for!! I used fat free half and half, vegetable broth, 20 ounces of pre-sliced mushrooms (half baby portabello, half traditional grocery mushrooms), only 1 TB of butter and 2 of flour (although next time I'd use less). I doubled the onion to 1 cup sweet onion, added a bit of extra black pepper, and finally, used about 1/3 cup white wine instead of 1 TB sherry. I also added 1 TB crushed garlic, which was a nice touch. I only blended about half of the mushrooms and onions and left the rest solid. This was a fantastic soup, and I am so glad I used this recipe!! Thanks so much for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This is a pretty good mushroom soup recipe, with a little tweaking of course. I saute half the mushroom/onion/seasoning mixture - no broth yet - then I added a little half and half and put it in the food processor. Never add salt to mushrooms until they've already browned or it won't happen, but other seasonings are fine. I made my roux (that's the half butter/half flour mixture) at the same time. You're supposed to whisk it for a few minutes until it doesn't smell like flour anymore, and the "mashed potato" consistency another reviewer mentioned is desired - a roux is a thickening agent used as the base of many soups. Then add liquid SLOWLY - otherwise it won't mix into the roux well, and you'll get lumps. Once it gets to a cream sauce consistency, you can add your puree if you're using one. I keep the other half the mushrooms chunked, and saute those off as well. I hit them with the sherry, let the alcohol cook off, then dump that into the soup. I use equal parts chicken stock and half and half , until the consistency is how I like it. I've never measured, so I can't tell you the exact amount. Add salt and pepper to taste, I use red pepper flakes as well, and you're good to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
I tried this recipe three times. The first time I followed the recipe exactly and the texture and appearance were awful. Next, I sautéed the mushrooms and onions in the butter instead of simmering them, and I didn’t puree anything. This was a big improvement. However, I still thought it seemed more like mushrooms with sauce than soup. The third time was the charm, I doubled all the ingredients except the mushrooms, onions and sherry, and this time I loved it. I also tried stirring a little left over Uncle Ben’s long grain and wild rice into some of the soup and thought that made a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
Absolutely delicious, delicate, creamy flavor! I had the very good luck of coming into some fresh organic shitake mushrooms. I chose to spend them on making this soup, and it was the best decision I could have made. I followed the recipe exactly but only used 2 T. of flour and butter to thicken, since I knew the shitakes would produce less moisture than other varieties of mushrooms. The consistency was thick but good. For sherry I bought a medium dry amontillado, which lent the soup a delicious subtle finish. Don't skimp on the sherry. I do wish the onions had melted into the soup better. Maybe I'll saute them first next time, as some reviewers have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
Excellent soup! I too used several types of mushrooms and added sour cream for a little more body. Thanks Karena!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
This is truly an excellent recipe. The soup was very tasty, and had great texture. I have used both fat free half and half as well as the real thing successfully. I found that two 8 oz. containers of sliced mushrooms broken up made about the five cups the recipe called for. Many friends have requested this recipe since I made it for them, so it is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 649) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States