Cream of Mushroom Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Excellent flavor, thick as creamed mushrooms. 5 cups of mushrooms? That's a lot for the amount of liquid. My soup was the color of dirt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
This recipe was truly bland. I don't know what else to say about it. It was quick to throw together, which I was truly impressed with. But when I sat down to eat, it was not what I was expecting. If I ever attempt this recipe again, I'd sautee the mushrooms with garlic and onion first, then puree half that mixture. I find that puree'ing the mushrooms with the chicken stock made the soup way too thick. So I'd sautee the mushrooms separately after they are cooked, and then add the chicken broth with the other final ingredients (cream flour butter) and let it simmer til the desired thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I made this recipe using roughly 8 cups of morel mushrooms. I doubled the recipe. Only thing I did differently was used a heavy cream/milk mixture because the store was out of half and half and I used a splash of moscato because I didn't have sherry. It actually tasted very good using that wine so I think you could use any wine you think tastes good. It turned out delicious. The morel flavor was very rich. I froze it in 2 cup portions and have been using it to make recipes that call for a can of cream of mushroom soup. Morels by themselves don't freeze well so if you find a lot of them this is an excellent way to preserve them and to incorporate them in many different dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
I added broccoli with the mushrooms and onions and added cheddar right before eating. It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
This is fabulous.... With that being said I agree with many others in leave it alone it is GREAT just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I need more stars for this recipe!! I've been making it for years and it is delicious. I sometimes tweak it and make a lighter version by subbing milk for the half and half, but rarely as this soup is a real treat and it's worth the extra calories. Thanks Karena :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This was my first attempt at mushroom soup and it was very good. I doubled the sherry and the half & half (I had a lot of mushrooms) and next time I think I would only puree half to 3/4 of the mushrooms, leaving some in larger pieces for appearance. Overall very good and I would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WEBANGEL14

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Loved this recipe! It's easy, but more importantly, it's fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I sautéed my Mushrooms and Onions in the Butter then added the Flour to that, rather than cooking mushrooms in broth. then I added the Broth and half and half other ingredients. I also added some heavy cream and about a half spoon of Nutmeg powder (secret ingredient).....It was Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by West Vancouver foodie
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I used the ingredients shown, but changed the methods. To concentrate flavours, I sauteed the onion and sliced mushrooms in a shallow pan with the butter until they were lightly browned (I added one clove minced garlic towards the end). I transferred the mixture to a soup pot then added the flour and cooked for a couple of minutes. Whisked in the broth, added thyme, salt and pepper, then brought to a boil. Added the half and half, then reheated slowly before adding the sherry. Before serving, I used a stick blender to roughly chop the mushrooms. I then added some chopped Italian parsley for colour and a bit of texture. If the soup is too thick, a splash of chicken stock would be useful. It is good to offer salt and a pepper grinder at the table in case anyone wants to correct the seasoning to their taste. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 81-90 (of 690) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States