Cream of Mushroom Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
my first cream of mushroom soup.Exellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I used half white and half baby portabella's. Great flavor. I used tarragon instead of the thyme and it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
It was an excellent mushroom soup. I substituted half and half with milk, since that all I had. My children were excited and liked it so much. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I know, I know, we're supposed to rate the recipe as is, but even though I didn't have sherry or half and half, I wanted to share that this recipe was STILL amazing! I used heavy cream instead of half and half, and I skipped the roux making step (I just added the flour to the already cooked vegetables and stock and thickened it up that way), but it was still so tasty, and much, much better than canned. As far as servings, it made about 5-6 cups of soup, so if you want more of this deliciousness, double the recipe! Definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I have made this soup at least half a dozen times per instructions, and it's always incredibly delicious! Tonight for fewer calories & less fat, I used 1/2 cup regular half & half and 1/2 cup of Trader Joe's fat-free half & half, and I can't tell the difference. I also added five Golden Yukon potatoes to the "finished" soup, after chopping them into soup-sized chunks and boiling them for about ten minutes in a separate pot. The new cream of mushroom and potato soup tastes great! But Karena's soup is the best I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Really good simple recipe that I have made several times. I've made it exactly as directed, but have also substituted skim milk or whipping cream for the half and half. I've even omitted the sherry or substituted white wine. It still turns out great. I no longer buy canned mushroom soup. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by advancedcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chelsea, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I made this soup a couple of hours ago, and I love it! I used crimini mushrooms and used one medium onion. I will be making this again. So simple to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Tasty and easy soup to make. Will keep this recipe as my main recipe for Mushroom soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Divernon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Wow, I will never use canned soup again! I sauteed the onions and mushroom and thyme in butter until almost done, then added white zin because I didn't have sherry. I allowed that to boil off for a few minutes then set to the side before I made the roux. The depth of flavor is amazing in this soup. We used it Christmas and Thanksgiving as the base for green bean casserole but it could easily be eaten by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuttle, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Simple recipe and tasty...thx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 620) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States