Cream of Mushroom Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Thanks, Karena, for a great soup recipe. I liked it enough to rate 5 stars but ended up making tweaks. To avoid being admonished, I made the recipe as close as possible to as written as I could except I made the roux in a separate pan and added it just before the 21% fat cream (half and half is not very common in Germany). The result was nice, and WAY better than any canned stuff you get off the shelf. This recipe was easy, not too time consuming and was genuine, not processed. BTW: Cooking the onions and mushrooms in the broth makes it easier to multitask in the kitchen, helpful when cooking a full meal or preparing for guests. Sauteing may be a good option but requires more oversight. However good the baseline soup was, I had to tweak from there to put my personality into it. I doubled the salt, pepper, sherry, and thyme, then added a pinch of cayenne and one tsp of garlic powder, but that wasn't quite enough for my palate. I then added one tsp of Maggi seasoning (European soy sauce, available at most large supermarkets) and that took the soup over the top. If I would have thought about the Maggi sooner, I would not have added the second tsp of salt, though, as it made it a bit salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
great start, I added Marsala, and did not blend. great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I thought this recipe was great! I didnt have half and half so i used heavy cream. I will definitely be making this again for sure. I am going to put it over some pork chops with noodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
This soup is thick and hearty enough to use as a sauce over rice, chicken, etc. The flavor is excellent--and so many mushrooms! Very easy to make. The only change I made was to use white pepper instead of black which left a nice subtle heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
All I can say is "wow!" This recipe was so simple yet full of flavor. My only substitution was using vegetable broth rather than chicken. Also, omitted the sherry as I didn't have any on hand. May add a splash of white wine next go 'round. My husband RAVED about it, and that has never happened before. Mmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Perry
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
This is fabulous!!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Very good recipe with excellent flavor. Though the recipe does say it makes 6 servings it was only enough to fill one normal bowl for my husband and me, and trust me I love my soup especially mushroom soup so next time I am going to make at least double what the recipe calls for. Otherwise I'll have another situation where be trying to get my husband away from his soup so I can have more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jack99sparrow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Really yummy! I altered the recipe a little because I was actually looking for a homemade cream of mushroom gravy for smothered pork chops. I sautéed the 1/2 onion and 16 ounces of mushrooms with a little EVOO, salt, thyme and pepper. I puréed the mixture in the food processor for no more than 5 seconds to keep the mushrooms slightly chunky. I put the mixture back in the pan with the butter and dusted it with the flour plus a little extra and whisked it together. I added about a cup of whipping cream and about a half a cup of chicken broth until I got the desired consistency. I didn't have the sherry, but that would have been a nice addition. I will use this recipe again, adding more mushrooms and I can just keep adding the liquid at the end to make a nice soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef4five

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denison, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I didn't want to use canned mushroom soup for a recipe as I was trying to cut the sodium, so I looked up how to make it. I tried this recipe and ended up eating most of it before hand, it was good. I did still use the remainder in the other recipe. It worked great. More trouble but I controled the salt content, I used a broth that was reduced sodium and then I didn't add additional salt as called for in this recipe. Tasted great. The other recipe came out just as great. I'm all for reducing the sodium in my recipes and this helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JSTWINKLE5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
The recipe is basically easy to follow... But I would suggest the following adjustments: - omit the salt if you are using chicken stock as it is salty enough - increase the amount of mushroom stated - omit the flour as the purée is thick enough after adding the pure cream (I don't have any half & half)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 637) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States