Cream of Herb Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
I totally dig this! This was a breeze to make & very tasty as well (this is my kind of soup, I just love spinich). I topped it off with some fresh grated parmesan cheese & real bacon bits. A delicious light lunch. Thanks Corwynn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2002
This is a great recipe. I made it for my girlfriend on Valintines Day and she loved it. The only thing I changed was the second time I made it with more basil and more spinach. I think it worked a little better. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
This was a good recipe, however it does not make very much and it needs to be doubled if you want leftovers or are serving more than 2-3 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
My husband and I thought this was wonderful! It is very different from the soups I usually make, so I was apprehensive about serving it. I'm used to all kinds of vegetables and meat etc. in my soups, but we will be having this often. It is very easy to make and quite delicious. The only thing I did different was to use a Vidalia onion instead of the green onions. I would recommend that you give it a try. Thanks for submitting this recipe Corwynn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I loved this concept, and since I had read the reviews, I loved the end product. I did increase all the vegetables and herbs to double what was written, and only cooked the soup for 10 minutes after I had added the spinach and herbs. It was delicious. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This was really good! I used half and half and chicken base (from Sam's club) and it was still very good! I'd like to try it with vegetable broth. Will definitely make again. Maybe a dash of white wine for complexity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pewaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Was surprised how well everyone liked this. I basically made it thinking only hubby and I would like it, but, the kids loved it too! My broth came out very thin, next time I may add a bit more flour. The only changes I made was using a sweet white onion instead of green onion because that was all I had. Severd with fish & rice, perfect compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
This is one of the best recipes I've tried from this site. I made it for a dinner party and everyone raved about this soup. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I love the idea and the name of this a lot more than the recipe as written. The broth is going to be FAR too thin if you make it as written, you will need to double the flour (at least) to get a good, velvetty texture. I ended up increasing all of the herbs to at least one cup. Cooking the herbs/spinach for 30 minutes is extreme overkill; they really only need to be cooked long enough to soften and let the flavor out - 15 minutes, tops. In the end, this was a very servicable appetizer soup, but I think the idea could be put to much better use than this recipe. Thanks for letting me try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2004
This soup is delicious! My husband wants to add ground sausage to it next time to make it more like a meal. Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States